who, me?

10.08.03 @ 4:20 p.m.

Two story-worthy happenings in the last hour.

The first was that I missed my bus, as usual (damn class, getting out at the half-hour rather than the twenty minute mark, meaning I have a good half hour to kill) (small price to pay for the fabulousness of a Rock History course, though) and so decided to take a stroll down the Street Faire (yes, it's that time again). This time, though, I was waylaid by petition gatherers. Medicinal Marijuana, the support of. They had garlands of I'm guessing hemp around their neck and were stopping everyone. Clever lie time, I think. "Are you registered to vote?" "Not in this state," I cheerfully reply, which usually gets them off my back while maintaining the appearance of a socially responsible person. Hurrah! "Oh, where are you from?" the woman asked. Damn. [Panic] "Uhhhhhh...... California." I probably visibly winced here, thinking "Stupid! Stupid!" The woman's eyes open wide. "You didn't vote for...?" "I, ah, didn't vote." [Flee!]

Kicking myself for being a bit of a moron (should've said Washington, really) I went down the back way, behind the new business complex for the first time in a year, because the area had been previously closed to construct said business complex. Then I heard my name. My FULL name. The last name with emphasis and disbelief. Uh oh. Personally, I expect hardly anyone from high school to remember my full name, at least those attending the U of O. I was not friends with these people. It was my former classmate, Glen, whom I'd spotted but wasn't surprised by because I see Glencoe people all the time. No big deal. Ah. Well. Glen is new to the school and apparently hadn't run into me yet. Perhaps I was misled by the time I ran into him in (of all places) the Jane Austen section of Powell's Books, where he was buying a gift for his longtime girlfriend. So he stopped to chit-chat about how he seems to run into a new Glencoe student every day! Wow! I make mention of a mutual acquaintance in one of my classes, far more likely to be in his social circle than mine. And flee again, this time to the buses.

Like I said, I was not friends with these people. Glencoe was actually pretty light on the exclusive cliques and I did socialize (in the classroom, never outside of school) with a lot of them, but... I have nothing to say to them, which feels awkward, so I play the aloof bitch and pretend not to see them more often than not. I'm just shaken by the weirdness of it and the fact that he said my FULL NAME. Why this is so weird to me, I don't know. I just rather think I blend into the background enough to be safely ignored/forgotten.

Much reading of Moon today as it was too inclement to hang around and people watch (ahem) in the great outdoors, plus with the Street Faire underway, you can't see from one side of the street from the other. Oh! But I bought an adorable little Who pin. I would have totally overlooked it as the images are so tiny, but all the Who but Pete are sitting on a bench in front of a Union Jack wearing big pop art symbols on their chests and Pete is wearing a chestful of medals. I had no cash, really, but I had to have it so I scrounged up five quarters. Yay! I'm strongly tempted by the Beatles for Sale pin and the Union Jack Sex Pistols pin. BUT--I've gotten to points in Moon that make me want to listen to their early singles and My Generation repeatedly. Like how Keith was so heavily medicated that he actually blacked out on playing the drums on "Substitute." He told Entwistle that they were trying to replace him, and hadn't they already gotten someone else to play "Substitute"? Entwistle had to tell him that the pills were making him paranoid and that John was THERE when Keith played on the song and had seen him--besides, Moonie was the only drummer he knew that screamed after particularly difficult drum breaks. So of course I must listen for the scream. And to the drums again.

My eyes have really been opened to the difference between most drummers and the inimitable Moon. It's quite amazing once you start noticing the way he uses riffs and fills.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top