much ado about nothing

10.07.03 @ 5:30 p.m.

What, you are probably not asking, has been accomplished today? Hmm. A fair question. Not a lot, though I've been hither and yon all day.

I went to VisComm, which was interesting and semi informative, for all that I knew a lot of the rule of thirds stuff from photography and at one point I was reduced to redesigning the cover of a fictional magazine a character in a story of mine edits. I do complicated things when I get idly bored. Early this morning I had firmly decided that I was skipping Italian today because... I just couldn't face it. It's hard and unpleasant. I honestly wish there wasn't a language requirement for a BA. And I hate forced socialization with people I neither know nor like. If a teacher never made me work in groups again, I'd be so happy. Plus, I had been all happy because Fran was there, but apparently she switched sections and is there no longer. Damn. Instead I hunkered down in one of the computer labs in the J-School (after a short, fruitless search for E* who was supposed to meet me at 11:30 but apparently forgot/slept through her first few classes) and started work on my TOC design. Bloody hard! We have something like fifty million fonts which means a lot of searching through Adobe Type Manager to find the one closest to your source material. Hardly any luck on that front. That's what I spent most of my time doing today. But I also managed to scan the two pictures from the page I'm doing. I picked one that looked nice and austere and easy, but it's got at least three different fonts on it. If only there had been a complicated array of pictures. That I could have handled.

I missed my bus by killing a half hour at the EMU computer lab, stupid, and E* spotted me moseying down the street looking to entertain myself until the next bus. So we went to talk to the computing people about maybe being able to have both computers online at once (it would seem we'll have to buy a second IP address? or something) and they were about as unhelpful as I predicted. Well, a little less unhelpful. And of course she insisted on 'keeping me company' while I waited for the bus, but we had a friendly discussion about spotting boys you fancy walking down the street. She has the less than elusive Evan to look for, I have the ever-disappearing and enigmatic Who Boy. (I think I have the better end of that deal in terms of dramatic mystery.)

Blah blah blah. I also went to Target today in hopes of getting a new bag. My backpack is big and poofy and I hate it except for my lovely collection of rock decorations (5 buttons and 2 patches). Which I can transfer, if I bought some thread. I'm looking for a messanger bag, preferably in olive drab. I love that color. No luck, though, but I'm hoping to go home this weekend and drag my mother around looking for one. Or something acceptible. (Also, our washer/dryer is broken and I need to do laundry.) What I did buy was a cheese grater because last night I was shocked to learn that we didn't have one. Which precludes any delicious quesadillas made by yours truly. I think I probably misspelled that, too. Also, feeding the Branagh obsession, I bought a 'Value' DVD of Much Ado About Nothing, which will thrill E* because she loves that movie.

(I'm totally Townshendified by the picture Candace posted an extremely cute picture of Pete and the fact that Liz put an entry declaring me to be one who cares enough about rock to study the Townshend windmill. Allegedly stolen from Keith Richards, who, unsurprisingly, doesn't remember. Ha.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top