pleasant valley... uh, friday

10.10.03 @ 3:46 p.m.

Question: Do I feel dizzy, headache-y, and weak because I've eaten almost nothing all day? Perhaps.

I have the worst eating habits imaginable. I skip meals right and left and the majority of the time, I don't eat breakfast. I've probably eaten breakfast less than a hundred time in the last three years.

It is my studied opinion that when I do eat, I eat like a boy. Girls, society tells us, are supposed to be responsible about this sort of thing. They eat delicate things like salads and pasta and are frequently vegetarians or don't eat red meat.

I am currently cooking two spicy sausages that I walked 5 blocks to get, I craved them so badly. I am also highly familiar with ramen, the college student's friend, and quesadillas. My roommate is a vegetarian. We're stocked with myriad vegetables and miscellania of Chinese cooking. Mushrooms and spinach and tofu, etc. In contrast, I've eaten buffalo for the first time this month. Next time, though, I'll succumb to temptation early and save myself time and effort by shelling out the $2.50 to eat at the Kosher Beef Sausage guy's stand on the west end of campus.

Anyway. That wasn't what was running through my mind and prompting me to write. It was said 5 block walk to Albertson's.

I've never lived in suburbia. I've never even visited it for more than two weeks. I'm sure Eugene's suburbs are a little more out there than many and I do live in a neighborhood with it's fair share of students. I took two different routes between the store and my house today and I kept noticing how different each house was. The picket-fenced place with the riot of flowers carefully arranged. Across the street: a place with tires on the lawn and clothes draped over the rail of the porch. Definately the home of a group of male students. The culture shock of it all (to a girl that has spent 18 of nearly 21 years on twelve acres of mixed forest and farmland) just kind of stuns me now and then. For all that it always seems so empty, there are hints of "Pleasant Valley Sunday" about. [Ah, my Monkees days. I should learn to play that one.]

This morning I decided there's almost nothing more delightful than spending your between class break hunkered down in front of the rock criticism/analysis section of the library. I looked through two or three books to read their section on the Who and toyed with checking out one 'origins of rock' history book, but decided to finish Moon first. You start to realize you're a geek when you nearly say out loud: "Pfft! 'Pictures of Lily' isn't about fetishism! It's about masturbation!" Pretty straightforward, really. And quite a catchy little tune.

Unexpectedly, there will be guests for dinner tonight. I don't know if I should participate in the socialization or hole up like a hermit crab. (Hole up is the most tempting, really.)

Other option: see if Moni fancies taking in School of Rock--If not, I'm going to the matinee tomorrow. I've no reason to wait any longer.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top