what a wonderful world (ramones version)

10.05.03 @ 8:20 p.m.

I find myself overloaded with homework tonight (so of course I'm writing...) Actually, the dangerous thing I did was put down the Illiad once it got interesting (the catalogue of ships FINALLY ended and Aphrodite had gathered up Paris/Alexandros from the battlefield and dropped him in his bed chamber with Helen and a healthy dose of lust. Meanwhile, both the Trojans AND the Achians want him dead and someone, Odysseus, I think, has nominally declared Menelaos the winner in the private duel that would have decided the whole goddamn war if Aphrodite hadn't taken Paris from the field. And this because they wouldn't invite Discord to Peleus and Thetis' wedding. Huh.) Ahem. Anyway, I got up to click about on the imdb.com listing for the upcoming Troy movie.

Orlando Bloom as Paris. Brad Pitt as Achilleus. Holy hell. Also, Rose Byrne is playing Briseis, and I think she's a good choice, based on looks alone.

I wonder if I'm more easily distracted when I'm home alone (as I am now) or if E* is actually here. I think she distracts, frankly. Also, she bought like, six cans of creamed corn today. Who the hell needs that much creamed corn? What on earth does she have planned?

Me, I bought some lovely caesar salad that I think I'm going to have another helping of. Otherwise it was an uneventful walk down to Albertson's. Well, I listened to the White Stripes Elephant because I think that "The Hardest Button to Button" will be my next guitar conquest. Though I still haven't mastered the bridge to "Pinball Wizard" yet. My dad picked up a guitar magazine in Fred Meyer, took it to their copy center, copied the White Stripes pages out of it, and put the magazine back in the rack. Hah. So I've got the tab and it doesn't look that hard. I took it for a test run today and it sounds pretty good, though I tend to goof up when I try to keep Meg's bass drum beat with my foot and play at the same time. Like how I can play "Seven Nation Army" no problem, but I can't multitask enough to sing along with it because it's more complicated than just a little chord progression.

Last night I brought out some of my old guitar standards to practice, namely Nesmith's "Listen To The Band" and "Carlisle Wheeling/Conversations" I can sing with "CW" but "LTTB" is really hard to sing with, unless I pop in a CD of the "33 1/3 Revolutions Per Monkee" special and listen to the performance there, where the vocals are a little more improvised and varied. I don't know what it is. I think it's that the chords don't feel like they match the vocal line and I also prefer playing that progression with two of the chords flipped. The proper way is GDCEmGDG but I like GDEmCGDG. I think. Whatever. It's pretty. The other song was probably the thing that lead me to practice enough until my hands were strong enough to barr an F, which I guess a lot of girls have difficulty doing. I keep watching The Kids Are Alright and Townshend's guitar playing and thinking "No fair having bigger hands..." I also rediscovered my acoustic guitar is effing loud. I've been playing my strat so much I forgot that cheap though my acoustic may be, it has a lot of projection.

I had a dream about Who Boy Nick last night (for the first time, I think) and it was the most innocent thing but it made me feel all warm and fuzzy all morning. The irony is, the less I see him, the heavier I seem to fixate. But damn it, he's cute and he likes the Who. Enough to offer the professor use of a DVD to showcase their stage presence. Somehow, I don't think the casual fan feels compelled to bring material to Rock History.

Edit: And whoever the hell is on right now reading over 50 pages, you are so creeping me out. And making me really paranoid.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top