tales of brave ulysses

09.30.03 @ 10:02 p.m.

Okay, well, I'm feeling much better now (and actually have been feeling quite well for the last four hours or so) and have finished my Italian homework, er, mostly, so I feel like writing some more.

Lately, though, I think that my quality here has gone down. E* and I watched half of The Pillow Book before my shit VCR started freaking out. Enough to think a) Woo, Ewan McGregor has NO problem taking his clothes off, does he? b) EW, EW, that old man is LICKING Ewan! and more pertinantly, c) Man, I wish I wrote insightful things in MY diary.

Non insightful: I read some Diesel Sweeties comics I had missed out on today, and I think I'm sad that Heavy Metal Steve isn't a virgin... though I don't think Goth Suzie would have actually taken advantage of him and is rather fucking with his head. And while I love Indie Rock Pete, I think I like Metal Steve best. Though if he existed, the hair would have to be... corrected.

I don't know if this is excepting or including the rock stars I adore, but I really seem to be charmed by a certain level of geeky and insecure. Not too much, though, because there ARE limits, but I think this explains my fascination and fixation on a certain nicknamed figure I shan't mention. He's not handsome, per se, but somehow I am immensely intrigued. Then there's skinny, squinty Brit mod Brilliant Shakespeare Prof. Though I think he could be independently considered handsome. Or cute, anyway. Nesmith and Townshend: large noses, not the usual focus of girl-attention (rather, Jones and Daltrey), but the insecure, tempermental geniuses with the driving creative talent.

D'you know, I was proud back in the not so distant day when I first discovered the Who because I DIDN'T have a crush on any of them? And then I realized that Townshend was a brilliant man and a fucking guitar GOD and I kind of... fell in love with him. As much as any girl can fall in love with a rock star, let alone one not from her time frame.

Speaking of rock, today I'm adoring my 20th Century Masters CD of Cream. Mostly "Sunshine of Your Love," "Tales of Brave Ulysses," and "White Room" though there are others on the CD that I adore. I've had that for, oh, two years I'm sure, but I think I've only listened to it all the way through two or three times. Also rock related: I am eager to see School of Rock because I love Jack Black, because they use "Long Live Rock" in the commercials, and "Substitute" is on the soundtrack. I mean, Jack Black preaching about Zep et al? I cannot see how that can go wrong. I'm reminded of the time that Amy and I went to Martha's house for a long evening of Scrabble and movies (see? the kind of good, wholesome teens that don't actually exist outside the fifties, apart from us) and it was just Amy's luck, hating Jack Black as she does, that we watched part of Enemy of the State on TV, High Fidelity AND the Jack Black hosted SNL. Muahah. But we really had to watch that SNL. The Birthday Song sketch alone is totally worth it. He's a crazy man, that Jack Black. And I look forward to seeing what he does when I finally watch Cradle Will Rock.

Homework time was very Clash heavy. Listened to London Calling and am now listening to "Career Opportunities" on The Clash. I'm indebted to Rock History class for introducing me to punk (and indeed to Martha for loaning me her copy of The Clash). It was funny at the beach, oh, it had to be Spring Break, when Martha saw my copy of London Calling and we realized a previously unknown mutual love of the Clash, though I was still a pretty new fan.

Shit. I thought I was done with Italian, but I see two surveys to be filled out in English on the couch, so I better go to that and puzzling out the first book of the Illiad.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top