"baby, baby, take my advice... a black cat crossed your path twice..."

09.30.03 @ 1:51 p.m.

This afternoon has not been good to me so far.

The first post-class mishap was a result of my own inattention. Somehow I managed to get so very caught up in the last verse of "Who Are You" ("...I spit out like a sewer hole / And still receive your kiss / How can I measure up to anyone now / After such a love as this?") and my own little world of aesthetic ecstacy (which after last spring's "Phil of Art" class is what I think religious ecstacy must be like... all consuming pleasure from some artistic work. It's why I love music so very much--it has that kind of power over me) that I let the bus breeze right past my stop. Not that walking two blocks was terribly unpleasant. It was rather nice. But I need to learn to pay better attention.

The second thing is that the mailman came and went and there is no copy of The Kids Are Alright in my mailbox, though I know the USPS has it in their clutches. Same with Moon: The Life and Death of a Rock Legend which is the bio Saunders recommended to me. It's by the same author as Dear Boy, which Nessa suggested when I couldn't remember the name of Saunders'.

Third, I'm in a lot of pain suddenly. It waited until I got home to pounce, was horrible, became UNBEARABLE almost immediately after I took an ibuprofren, and is now a persistance annoyance. I wonder why the world is ganging up on me today.

J204, Visual Communication, promises to be an interesting class. Mostly we'll be analyzing journalistic design and we'll be having a lot of famous UO J-School alumni coming in and showing off their world famous adverstising designs.

More later, maybe. I don't feel quite up to writing right now.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top