just like a sailor heading into the sea

10.01.03 @ 11:07 a.m.

I'm in a slight flutter this morning, though I don't quite know why. For one thing, I forgot to get a picture to describe for Italian today, and it's lucky I remembered and it's more lucky that I had my campus cash card here so I could print on the lab printers. Now I've got the 'birdman' photo of Pete. Which I just adore.

Pete ha un naso grande e gli occhi chiari. Pete has a big nose and clear eyes, I think. Gah. Italian is so damn hard. And I don't really want to hang around in here because... well, the thing is that I don't want to talk about Who Boy because I'm thinking that it really isn't healthy for me to think of him like I do. I've kind of happily fictionalized him, and I... don't like the way I'm being. And yet, I've never tried anything like pursuing a boy. So I don't know how to go about things and I'm just so... I have no words. I really don't. I wish I could start over, go back to January when he brought in the Isle of Wight DVD and indroduce myself immediately after class. Wouldn't that be nice? Instead I was just "Hey, it's that guy" for a while, then I talked to him, and that somehow sparked this weird crush.

I'm so stupid, really. Anyway. I'm trying to get over myself.

Classics is interesting, and I'm actually kind of liking the Illiad, though the petulance of Achilleus and Agamemnon both amuse and annoy me. The teacher, being unable to see much, let us out at about 10:40. So I tried to go to the library and use one of their computers, without luck, and came back here to email Martha and write here. And I can't remember what I wanted to write.

I hate Italian and really wish I could just skip it. Skip it forever and ever and ever. I'm in a mad panic because the class is completely conducted in Italiano, and I'm deathly terrified that things are being assigned and I'm not understanding it. Like how we were supposed to telephone someone in our class? When? The girl never called me last night and I'm too phone phobic to call her. I hate telephones. The only person I've ever been totally at ease with on the phone is Jodi. (Not counting my parents, of course.)

Also, I'm kind of in a Cream phase, though the CD I decided to bring to school with me today is Pete Townshend's Empty Glass. I could listen to "A Little Is Enough" (especially the "Just like a sailor heading into the sea" part) a million times. Somehow it seems to be one of the most romantic and beautiful songs in the world. Then there's "Rough Boys" which I am charmed by because I love punks. Like Greyhound Punk. He was adorable.

Ah. Off to sit in the sun and people watch.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top