hey big spender

09.23.03 @ 1:24 p.m.

There's so much to tell! Perhaps I'll split it into two entries... yeah. I'll write about the last two days and post the pictures I FINALLY have of my hair-dye job another day.

Slavik posted a link to a picture of himself with the Stereophonics, and I just have to say that his hair reminds me of this picture (just the hair, mind you):

They have the same little flare-out of hair at the neck, kind of. Perhaps it's just an "I'm growing my hair out" moment, because that's Pete between Mod and semi-psychedelic. I don't think I even know what I'm saying/trying to say.

ANYWAY.

So yesterday morning I got up and we manhandled all we could fit into the back of the pickup. I now have a desk and a proper desk chair. Yay. (Nevermind that the chair is too wide to fit under the very elderly desk...) On the way to Eugene we stopped at WinCo to pick up $90 worth of groceries, partly for general consumption and a very little for Friday's shindig. Mainly, that means guacamole spice. I am going to make some KILLER guacamole, provided the avacados I have don't abruptly ripen and go bad in the next day or so.

More good stuff: We also stopped at Portland Music to pick up a new E string for my stratocaster. While I was down in sheet music scrounging up enough cash to buy a very detailed "Best of the Who" tab book, Dad bought a full set of strings, two more replacement Es, and, happily, a brand new Korg tuner. It has a VU-type meter display like his and unlike his, can also play the tone so you can try to tune by ear. My Who book is awesome, though there are about three songs I don't know: Two from (I think) It's Hard or Face Dances and "Dogs." Which I really want to hear, but I have no idea where I'd find it. Hey, Candace, did you know there's a four volume Hal Leonard Definative Who? It's arranged alphabetically by song title and looks like it could feature every song the Who ever wrote. $25 a volume, though, so I just had to ooh and ahh over it. My new book is a Hal Leonard, too.

We also stopped at Fry's in Wilsonville and Dad bought me a bigger TV, which was surprising. My dad's being very generous with his money lately. Moving away has kind of made my parents inclined to indulge all my whims.

[Interjection: I just made myself some lunch and am once again appalled by the kitchen. As one of the laziest people alive and one who is extremely careless with regards to clothes and laundry and such, it astonishes me that I think I'm going to have to lay down the law as regards kitchen cleanliness. There's no organization (I'll soon fix that, though,) and I swear E* never cleans the counters OR the stovetop. I know for sure as regard the stove... and E*'s houseguests have left the kitchen covered in dishes that are like, mid-use. There's a bowl with raw egg on the stove, a dirty frying pan, half full cups of coffee... Coffee grounds EVERYWHERE... I'm fucking amazed. She lives like a goddamn animal. I will likely end up killing her in her sleep in a fit of filth induced madness.]

And finally, because the mattress I had here was unbearable, Dad and I managed to find a bed with new or nearly new mattress and box spring at Goodwill. It's bouncy. I rather like it. Big Spender also stopped at Fry's AGAIN on the way back to Portland and bought himself a $250 camcorder, which he will show off to me when he brings my dining table, bike, VCR and houseplants to Eugene on Thursday. Also my copies of Scrabble, Star Wars Monopoly, Scrabble, and maybe our 1930s copy of Monopoly for Friday... which shows the exciting sort of parties my friends and I have.

Now I have more unpacking/organizing/poster-hanging to do, plus I'm still flush with the joy of having internet on this laptop again. I'm downloading 80 million software updates.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top