hail to the king, baby

09.21.03 @ 7:30 p.m.

Funny, funny, funny. Read the spotlight review.

This afternoon I saw a little piece of cinemagic called Bubba Ho-Tep" this afternoon with my mom. If you see one 'Elvis vs. Mummy' movie this fall, make it this one. We went down to Cinema 21 to catch the matinee because Dad worships the local movie reviewer, Shawn Levy. I believe he also wrote a book about the Rat Pack and one called Ready, Steady, Go about London in the sixties that I really want to read. BUT -- in general I do not think much of his review. Not that it was a terrible review. He gave it a C. Admittedly, I could have done without some of the rumination about his penile cancer and "Would Priscilla still love me if she knew I was alive?" I mean, once or twice would have been okay. But there was just far too much mention of Mrs. Presley. I don't know if Jack was really JFK or not, though. He had a little scar on the back of his neck, but while I can run with Elvis still being alive, Ossie Davis REALLY being JFK is a bit much.

I thought it was a good movie and I'm glad I saw it, but you have to bear in mind that I'm a huge fan of Army of Darkness and therefore a huge Bruce Campbell fan. He rocks. I was so excited when I saw him in Spider-Man as the wrestling announcer.

If you haven't seen Army of Darkness, you should. It was the first thing I ever saw on DVD, as my brother chose it to be his demonstration when I went to his apartment once with my dad. Later I found out that Dorian also had a big poster of the movie cover on his wall. I don't think he does any more. Somehow, I think Julia wouldn't allow it. Anyway, it's the third installment of the Evil Dead trilogy but it stand alone; it has to, since I haven't seen the first two. Campbell is also a semi-local as he spends his summers in Jackson(ville?), Oregon. I believe he also had a recurring part in Xena and a short-lived WB series called Jack of All Trades. He really is a B-movie actor. (And I long to read HIS book, too.)

E* (who idolizes Yoko Ono) just sent me a picture of Sean Lennon cutting off part of his mother's dress. She was re-enacting a performance piece she did in 1964 called 'Cut-Piece' where she wore a white gown and audience members cut pieces off until she was naked. This time she was in France (rather than Japan, I believe) and wearing black, but you know, she's much older now and I guess it went well until they got to her underwear, and then no one was willing to continue cutting. How embarassing, eh?

It always creeped me out to see footage of John and Yoko on Anthology where she's wearing all white, including go-go boots and hot pants. Something about her face makes that kind of outfit alarming and a little disturbing. She looked... too old for it, even though I'm sure that was late sixties footage.

My parents are wondering if Paul McC's decision to release Let It Be... Naked is somehow tied to Phil Spector and the death of that actress. (And they do think he did it, by the way...)

I found a 'You grew up in the '80s if..." list that I was going to post today, but then Bubba Ho-Tep seemed more interesting, so it's postponed. But it did prompt me to see if I can still sing the whole "Fresh Prince of Bel Air" theme song... and I can.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top