come, friends who plow the sea

09.20.03 @ 9:01 p.m.

Firstly, angst over. Sorry. The Daily Nightly audience gets to see the side of me that most of the people that actually KNOW me never see: Moody, depressive Ellen. It comes and goes, mostly it's gone. This place is a lovely little catharsis.

Secondly, Candace, I know EXACTLY what you mean about nostalgia for a time you've never been in. Story of my life, really. Once my dad and I were talking about music and he told me he thinks I must be the reincarnation of some teenager that died around 1968. If I believed in past lives (I neither believe or disbelieve), I would think that I've at least lived in 1810 and 1960, I write so much in those two time periods.

I listened to A Quick One today while I was varnishing the legs of the table we're hard at work on. I really love that album. One reason is "Whiskey Man," a John Entwistle tune. I rather wish I could find a cheap copy of Rigor Mortis Sets In because quite frankly, I can't think of an Entwistle tune I don't love. "My Wife," "Cousin Kevin," "Fiddle About," "Heaven and Hell," all are favorites of mine. In fact, "My Wife" was the third Who song I particularly loved. The first was "A Quick One While He's Away," as it was my introduction to the Who. Then there was "I'm a Boy," which is just quirky fun. (Hey, Candace, what would make I'm A Boy a good name for the band is if we got a boy to be the Daltrey, heh heh. I spend too much time formulating my imaginary bands.) I've seriously digressed. One of the things I really like about that album is that it's kind of an odd mix of faux Motown (Fauxtown?) and surf. Plus all that other that I can't so easily classify, like "Boris the Spider." (Another Entwistle great.) I felt insightful this afternoon, but maybe that was the varnish fumes? Anyway, it completely re-infatuated me with the Who, like I needed it.

Later I went out with my parents for no real reason other than I just felt like going along. Dad and I looked at camcorders because Dad is in the market for one to use at the German Shepherd National, and it frustrates the hell out of me that he automatically assumes that 'digital' means 'better.' He goes on and on about all the features of these cameras and I just know that he'll never use 80% of them and doesn't know what most of them mean. There's a nice little camera at Fred Meyer for $199 and I think that's ideal. I shouldn't nag them about money, but somehow it kills me to see him spent twice as much money for features he won't use. Bloody hell. I could use that money.

Also, at Target there was an $80 MP3 player that looked very appealing indeed, but it doesn't have much memory, so you'd have to shell out for a media card to go with it. But oh. To have a music source with a little clip (sadly missing from CD players) and that I can change up all the time without burning CDs all the time. Like the two or three workout mixes I have for when I go to the Rec. There's also the way that I started listening to CDs almost every day between class last year. My dad, also known as the devil, TEMPTED me very evilly by offering to pay half the price on the spot. Of course, I have no money of my own with me. Only after we got home did I realize that I had the Target giftcard my grandma gave me and I later found out it was for more than I thought. But he also retracted the offer because the National is going to cost so much. And I hate spending money.

BUT! Yesterday I got my paycheck from the Summer Crew job. Very nice indeed.

Okay, well, I'm starting to get random again, so I guess I'll go back to spending my night frivolously.

(Oh, and I find I did celebrate Talk Like A Pirate Day after all... I finally made a soundtrack to the 1982 version of The Pirates of Penzance with Kevin Kline, Linda Ronstadt and Angela Lansbury. Yay!)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top