keep on working

08.05.03 @ 7:39 p.m.

Manual fucking labor. My arms hurt like hell because I'm just not in the right shape to be spending six hours raking and shovelling leaves into a dump truck. Plus a fair amount of ladder climbing when I took my turns tromping around inside the dump truck to empty our bins of leaves.

Let me start more toward the beginning, eh?

So I'm employed now. I work for the local school district as part of the summer maintainance crew. Woo. Still, it pays $8 an hour. The first hour or so was spent at the transportation center cleaning the undersides and legs of the tables in their lounge. Then we went to the middle school I attended and spent the rest of the day (about 9-3) there, cleaning up after the groundskeepers. They trimmed the trees and hedges and we raked out the the detritus and loaded it into the dump truck. We also picked up a bunch of pine tree branches and raked up pine needles. My arms and back fucking hurt, to the point where I've lost the ability to use any adjectives except swear words. I've hit that mindless point where 'fucking' replaces 'um.' Later, though, I'll probably be watching a movie with my parents.

Oh, speaking of movies, I watched Hedwig and the Angry Inch last night and it was marvellous. I loved the music. I think I want the soundtrack. The combination of watching that movie right before bed and my nervousness about my job combined to give me persistant dreams about... I think the gothy, dark haired guitarist. Music and guitar looped in my brain and not letting me think or dream about anything else. And so I felt like I hardly got to sleep at all.

But I digress. My parents have this misplaced pride in me working. They're almost willing to indulge me to any length lately. Well, today. Dad said he was going to buy ice cream, but it got forgotten. And while they're slightly disapproving of my preordering The Kids Are Alright on DVD last night, they're letting it slide.

Have I ever complained about my POS stereo? On the way home from college it completely ceased to work. Well, it reads no CDs and while I was at school the tape deck broke. And I hardly ever listen to the radio. It was basically useless. It IS basically useless.

We replaced it today. I'm so excited. I've got a brand new stereo! Very elegant looking (the most classy looking stereo I've seen of late) with a remote and it holds three discs. It doesn't get quite as LOUD as my old one, but that's probably much better for my hearing. And my old one used to bug me because the clock was so bright it lit up my whole room and when I was at home (and there wasn't the streetlight outside to make anything less than total darkness), I had to cover it. I can turn off the clock on this one. It's so great. It's a Sony, and it's refurbished, so it was 50% off!

The hardest thing is accepting that I have to get up early every weekday again. Agh.

(Title track is from the album Empty Glass by Pete Townshend.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top