young american

08.04.03 @ 8:37 p.m.

It would seem that I have a job. The mind boggles, really. I'm not completely certain about it at this moment (because who knows what might happen) but as of tomorrow morning, I'll be working for the local school district, seven to three thirty, every weekday until the end of August. For $8 an hour, I'll be painting/moving/cleaning/landscaping.

So I guess now I have something to do with my days.

Anyway, I went and got a bit of a trim today to prepare myself for the second attempt at coloring my hair. The girl who did it didn't do a fantastic job, but I'm not terribly unsatisfied with it. I was mildy annoyed when I walked all the way to Fred Meyer (the everything store--think a grocery store merged into a Target or similar) and realized the girl hadn't given me my $3 change when I paid for my haircut. Grr. So my hair's about two inches shorter. Maybe three inches. At Target I indulged in a Starbucks Tazo Tea Lemonade and complained to my mom about how I had sufficient cash in my wallet and yet the copy of Who Are You that I always see when I'm there continued to taunt me from afar. She said I could treat myself (without the subsequent nagging) at the end of my month of employment. Though I'm thinking that I'll hold on to that promise and treat myself to The Kids Are Alright instead so I can go all girly over such things as the "Baba O'Riley" video. TAMBOURINE!

I never really went into my "Save the Endangered Tambourine" bit with anyone but Candace, did I? The tambourine is a forgotten instrument in pop. What would Julian Casablancas do if he didn't sing every song for the Strokes? You're cocky, instrument-less frontmen need one of two things: a tambourine or, failing that, a harmonica. The tamborine is much easier to work into a song, in my opinion. Roger Daltrey and Davy Jones are excellent examples of frontmen who need something to do when they're not in the spotlight. I mean, why just stand there doing nothing? Or you can be as adorable as Pete Townshend is in the "Baba O'Riley" video even if you do play guitar.

Heh heh heh.

Right now I'm listening to a mix CD I made of songs Martha gave me mostly because I saw that cell phone commercial that uses "Blitzkrieg Bop" by the Ramones and I had the urge to listen to the whole song. I remember the day Martha gave me most of those songs. She had a stack of mix CDs I was browsing through and one had "Let My Love Open the Door" appropriately labelled as "by Pete Townshend." At the time I hadn't known that that was a Townshend song and got very excited. She was just full of disbelief that I didn't know that was a Townshend song. And then about a week later I bought Empty Glass, which is an album I adore. So, woo.

Funnily enough, Martha is NOT responsible for the Clash-love, though she's obsessed with Joe Strummer. One of my dad's friends loaned him a copy of London Calling and I wanted to copy it because I remembered listening to "The Guns of Brixton" in rock history class. And, of course, the whole album is brilliant. (This comes to mind because the mix CD has moved on to "Should I Stay or Should I Go.")

AGH! And I left a box of dental floss from my last dental appointment on the computer table and now it's EMPTY! My parents have been stealing my goddamn floss! Can you believe it?

This is a slightly surreal day.

(The title track is by David Bowie and is featured because I'm listening to it right now. And I didn't dream about him despite watching his 'secrets' bit on Conan a while back.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top