dead leaves and dirty ground

07.10.03 @ 11:51 p.m.

Quote of the Day: "They should ban the lot. One thing leads to another. Coffee leads to Red Bull, Red Bull leads to crank." --Ozzy Osbourne

I honestly did not mean for that to become a regular theme, but there it is. I keep finding things to amuse me. This one is from The Oregonian's celebrity gossip column. I never thought of myself as the celeb gossip reading type, but then one day I realized that I'd been reading that column in the paper for years and years. Too late.

A few days ago it gave me good news: Daltrey and Townshend are going to finish the album they started before Entwistle's death. I wonder if Saunders would consider that as near-sacreligious as he thought the Who's touring despite Entwistle's death was? Hmm. I also wonder if the new album will coincide with The Kids Are Alright's DVD release (which Candace told me about, meaning Liz need not vigilantly watch Much More Music after all.) Speaking of the Who (as I so frequently do), I cannot believe I talked myself out of buying a copy of Who Are You. But we're getting financially strapped, enough that whenever I do buy anything I get a bit of a lecture. And in some ways I'm trying to train myself to be a little less instant-gratification materially focused. The way my dad closely questioned me makes me wonder if he's looking for an excuse to buy an album for me. I think he tries to buy my love, which totally doesn't work. Or only works for a little while. I think I hurt his feelings by not wanting to go driving with him last night, but damn. He's a horrible driver and I don't think I can be patient with him. So I don't want to try. I was supposed to go out with Mom today but we both forgot. It's just too damn hot. Anyway, back to the Who. Dad kept questioning me about albums because one of the rationalizations I had for not buying the Who album was that I was wanting to get Who By Numbers first and I kind of wanted a copy of the White Stripes' White Blood Cells on CD, and would have bought a CD yesterday if they had a copy of anything but Elephant at Fred Meyer. But they didn't... Well, they had their eponymous album. And the $27 double disc version of Live at Leeds was there taunting me, too. But I have to save money and not buy things to convince my parents to buy (or let me buy) TKAA when it comes out. I've got plans, oh yes, I do.

Today I went to the library because something I had reserved had come in. I knew I reserved something but couldn't remember what. Turns out it's a double disc album, The Very Best of Elvis Costello. Hmm. Lucky lucky me, though, it's pretty much brand new and hasn't got a scratch on it. Neither does a Nick Drake CD I picked up on a whim. A Ramones CD and The Story of the Clash Vol. 1 that I checked out were scratched very badly. I can't even listen to the Ramones one. But what do you expect from punk rockers?

Speaking of punk rock, I'm horrified that Nike (lovable local corporate giants that they are) bought Converse. AAGH! The punk rock shoe brand is going to be NIKE!?! Damnit! (New York punk rock, anyway. Ramones-y, not Clash-y.) As if they don't already own my soul as a U of Oregon student. Here's a little corporate history lesson: Phil Knight, owner, creator, general god figure to any Nike employee, went to school at the University of Oregon in the seventies or so. If I'm not mistaken, he was a contemporary of Steve Prefontaine, whom, as Ducks, we must collectively worship. Phil established his shoe company in Beaverton, Oregon. My parents and I drive past Nike World Headquarters every time we want to go to Costco. Yeah. I've even been there once and toured the place, which is not as impressive as some people, but occasionally it's a little surreal to think of what a huge corporation that is and to realize that when I was about 14 I was lead through it's halls and spent many an afternoon in an auxilary building with some engineers trying to invent a vacuum that would suck up bugs so you could release them outside. Good old Invention Convention. Our engineer took us to a hockey game in the Nike employee's booth. That kicked ass, as I was a big hockey fan then. Just the junior league, the WHL. Portland Winter Hawks, woo.

Hence my apparently better than average (for an American) knowledge of the Canadian national anthem, though I don't know it that well. Not past the first couple of lines and the general melody. Which are now stuck in my head despite the fact that I'm listening to a crappy tape of White Blood Cells. (Why? Because on "Without a Trace" tonight (first time I've watched it, too) a dramatic moment happened with "Dead Leaves and Dirty Ground" playing in the background. Woo. Jack and Meg are awesome.)

Soon we shall watch Animal House... Within the week, to be sure. Probably tomorrow. And then I will finally know which places on my college campus were used to make the film. Rock. And now that I'm no longer inexplicably tired, I'll probably spend a long time at Disturbing Auctions enjoying the weirdness of eBay without longing to buy.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top