imperial march

07.02.03 @ 1:56 a.m.

It's quite late and I intended to go to be about an hour ago. Naughty me. I'm still up in the halfhearted hope that Martha does email after Conan, but now I'm kind of thinking that she tapes Conan and I'm being stupid. But she's responded to insanely late night emails before. Hmm.

I'm kind of a geek, in that I just finished dusting my Star Wars LEGO collection. They sat out on the shelf without anyone caring for them for far too long. So they're covered in dust. And actually, I haven't dusted any of the few Episode One LEGOs I have. But I dusted off my old Snowspeeder (and associated bits--a Rebel soldier and a big satellite dishy gun. I can't remember the name.) and Luke's landspeeder. I can't remember if the moisture vaporator goes with the Ep. 1 dueling scene (I think it does) or with the landspeeder. What's sad is that I started thinking I had to get one of the Jabba's palace kits so I had Artoo and Threepio to go in the speeder. Anyway. I also have some Return of the Jedi speeder bikes, which are what I just finished. This whole thing was spurred by the fact that I bought one of the new Star Wars mini LEGO kits today. It's an AT-ST and a very tiny snowspeeder. They're so cute! And tiny! And I just love AT-STs.

I'm a sucker for a) X-Wing pilots and b) the trappings of the Empire. I dunno, an Imperial Star Destroyer looks more kickass to me than a Calamari cruiser. And I think Imperial officers might be stupid, but they have style damnit.

My god, I'm geeky.

But that's okay. Apart from buying LEGOs, I practiced driving again. I'm not sure if it's that it's been so long or if the pickup is just touchy, but it was hard turning around and driving up the lane today. I think the pickup is touchy and that freaks me out. The Beemer ('76 BMW) isn't as sensative, at least on the gas pedal. I can work that pedal no problem. With the pickup, you barely touch the pedal and VROOOOOOM!. It was scary. I was sure I was going to plow Dad's precious truck into the old van. Or the new van. Or a tree. But it's good for me to practice a little. And apparently the Department of Environmental Quality parking lot is huge and empty in the evenings, so we might practice there a bit.

I got horrible cramps during dinner which nearly spoiled my evening. I wanted and tried to watch The Pianist with my parents but I couldn't keep still or concentrate on something serious, so I got up and made guacamole and watched A Shot in the Dark, a 1964 Peter Sellers/Pink Panther movie. One of my favorite movies ever, come to think of it. I've been watching that movie since I was a little kid. The guacamole is wonderful. We used an avacado and a half and half a packet of "Pepe Wahoo" guacamole seasonings. I also put about three times the recommended amount of lemon juice, but apparently I like guacamole to be tangier than most. In the end I ended up putting lemon juice in the lid of the container for the guacamole and dipping the chips in both. I have a bad feeling my parents ate most of the product of my hard work. And now we have to buy another avacado (after getting SIX (or was it eight?) hideously spoiled ones from QFC. We bought the two good ones at Fred Meyer today.

We also bought dark chocolate Hershey Kisses! Dark chocolate is my, uh, favorite form of chocolate, I guess. I love it. And hiding the brownies paid off. They haven't all been eaten yet. We're such an unhealthy family. I think we all have food issues. I have a whole childhood full of hiding food from my dad. Who is now a holier-than-thou diet and exerciser. And he still doesn't have much self control. Which is why the brownies go so fast. And I eat too much because I feel like I have to compete--If I don't get my share in now, it'll be gone before I can. It's all so horrible, really. So yeah. I lifetime of bad habits inspired by the man who now endlessly criticizes if he catches me eating something 'naughty'

And to end, some of these are quite pretty. Especially the one for speed.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top