liberty bell march

07.02.03 @ 5:23 p.m.

Quote of the Day: "I'm so punk rock, even my posters are torn." - Martha

The fourth of July approaches, and the innocent pyromaniac in me is nurtured and encouraged by my family. Mostly my dad. Today we went to Costco and bough a huge, $40 pack of TNT fireworks. We also stopped at one of the sale tents and bought some frills, like sparklers (I cannot believe this huge kit didn't have ANY sparklers in it!) and one of my childhood favorites, expanding snakes. So for the next few days I'll be found crouched down on the back patio holding matches to the little black pellets of the expanding snakes and creating burn marks on the concrete. We've also got five boxes of the little Pop-Its.

I'm so stoked. Three boxes of strobe lights. These cool sculpted sparkler things called Crackling Trees. I already smell like gunpowder from the smoke snakes and Pop-Its. I've always loved the snakes. They're little black pellets and when you light one end of them, they create colored smoke and expand, writhing. They're so much fun! The old ones used to end up solid and those were the ones I've missed for years. This is the first time I've seen them for years. Now the end result is a black fluffy thing, which is a little disappointing, but hey.

I will soon be the proud owner of a Rolling Stones Forty Licks poster. Andrew's friend Clinton gave him a Rolling Stones poster and a Clash poster. Andrew's not into either. After a time (a couple of months), Andrew gave them to Martha. Martha's keeping the Clash poster, which I think is the London Calling cover, and even took down a James Dean poster to put it up. I've been offered the Rolling Stones poster, and as a posteraholic, I can't say no! Besides, come September, I'll have the Eugene house to decorate, right? Muahaha. I don't think E* would mind Maximum R&B or the Beatles or James Dean in the living room, certainly. Plus we have lots of space in the hallways. And the kitchen....

On Friday, we're all heading to the Waterfront Blues Festival, though I think we'll be leaving before the big Portland fireworks to do our traditional little show at home. I'm excited for the Festival. I didn't go last year and rather regret it. I've gone at least one day almost every year for the last, gee, five or six years, maybe more. Except last year when I didn't go at all. I didn't even like the blues (it's growing on me now, mostly because of the White Stripes, the Who, and the Stones), I just liked the festival atmopshere.

Now I think I need to go light off another snake, heehee.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top