time is passing

07.01.03 @ 12:10 a.m.

Hrm. I watched About A Boy tonight. I must say I prefer the book. Or rather I think the two were too close together and comparisons were inevitable. The end took a screeched turn away from the book's plot during Will's dinner with Rachel. But I suppose if they were going to take it out of 1993/1994, then they couldn't build it all around Kurt Cobain, could they? I didn't like how Ellie changed from book to movie or how my idea of Marcus changed. Frankly, Will was the only one that was kind of like I imagined. But actually I cast my brilliant Shakespeare prof in the roll of Will. Probably because he's British and has extensive pop knowledge, but also because he kind of looks how I'd expect Will to look. I was pleased with myself for not mentally casting Hugh Grant merely because I knew he was Will in the movie. Saunders has exactly the right look for Will, I think, though I sincerely doubt he's anywhere near that shallow or weaselly. It was quite good, the book.

I seriously need to stop surrounding myself with British things. It's creeping into my writing and speech worse than usual. And it probably makes me sound pretentious. When I already come off as arrogant to some people because of my reserve. (I'm Mr. Darcy!) (Or Georgiana Darcy without the inconvenient seduction by G. Wickham. Georgiana pre-Wickham?) Half my archetypes for life are characters out of Pride and Prejudice. Funny how that happens.

Roger Daltrey was on my mind a lot today for no apparent reason, unless it was that Access Hollywood thing from last night. Which would be odd. And I've hardly listened to music today except that right now I'm listening to The Story of the Clash again and I listened to a tiny bit of London Calling when I was trying to help Martha via email with her album review for LC. But only like a minute of "The Right Profile" to see if there were trumpets in it. I couldn't remember. And I listened to "Time is Passing" when I got up, which is almost becoming like a morning ritual. Get up (hideously late because I stay up too late at night reading), put on Odds & Sods at "Time is Passing" and listen to "Pure and Easy", "Too Much of Anything" (sometimes I skip it), "Long Live Rock", skip "Put the Money Down" etc. I'm still wallowing in Lifehouse even though I haven't looked much at Behind Blue Eyes for a couple of days. I wish I hadn't returned a book or two I checked out but hadn't read yet. I figured I had enough with the Pete bio and Harry Potter and Horse's Neck which I don't feel like reading right now. Really, I don't feel like reading much of anything but I'm still restless.

I think I'm just totally restless because I haven't left the house for... since Friday? I'm getting too housebound and I haven't worked on my driving, partly because it's been too hot and partly because no one seems to have time for me anyway. Today was actually wonderful, temperature wise. Very temperate. Cool even.

I mean, the big news of today was that they showed the one episode of Perry Mason that was done in color. It was big news A) because I'd never seen it but I'd heard of it and B) I had a dream this morning that I was watching the color episode of Perry Mason, which was a freakish coincidence. Or I'm becoming psychic. Oooh.

Pete Townshend was in the news today, or rather in the celebrity gossip column of the Oregonian. He's hired "a very cool and experienced bodyguard" (Pete's words) to protect against the people who don't believe his innocence. Poor guy. I am suddenly feeling the urge to give Pete a hug. How very odd. And funny, because my friends would be the first to tell you that I'm not a hug person.

I think I've run out of things to say

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top