we're going to be friends

06.26.03 @ 12:43 a.m.

Fun thing of fun things, my best friend (as measured by sheer number of years--we might as well be sisters, we've been neighbors and friends since the age of two and three) called me tonight... From ALASKA! She's on an internship in Seward working with all the cute and cuddily wildlife of the sea. Of course, this work involves taking blood and collecting poo, but still. At least she's doing something with her summer, which is more than can be said for me. I only have one job application filled out, and then not all the way because I can't remember a lot of my previous work experience except what I've done as a self employed person. Dog-sitting, mainly.

'Course, I don't sit around completely sessile and inactive. I spent a large part of today arranging an ad for the German Shepherd Review and spicing up my dad's dreadful copy. He wanted a little anecdote to introduce his teenage dog handler, Paige, and it was so stilted and boring. I only changed a couple of words and it sounded much more natural. This is all with his approval, of course. Think how devious it would be to rewrite his ad on the sly. Hours were spend on this because the iMac's printer refused to work, so I had to install the software for the OTHER printer and deal with all that. Plus a lot of fiddly work with the photos that go with it, but I love that sort of thing, so it was fine.

Tomorrow I ought to scan and upload pictures for the kennel website, but likely I'll be dragged to the DMV and then out for driving lessons. Yeah, a twenty year old non-driver. I feel kind of pathetic at times. Ah well. I don't have to jump through the hoops Oregon law decrees for teenagers, though, that's something. I'm trying to wrangle a copy of the fifth Harry Potter as payment for the ad work, or the preliminary stuff I've done on the website. (Buying the domain and all. All I've done so far is put up a placeholder page.)

It occurs to me that it has to be dealt with tomorrow if I'm going to Portland with Martha on Friday. I hadn't thought of that.

This all means I should go to bed soon/now so I can get up early enough to shower etc. before dad decides that it's time to go out.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top