elevation

06.24.03 @ 7:47 p.m.

I was out hanging up laundry this evening when the grass behind me started twitching and moving as if a skeletal hand was going to come shooting up a la Army of Darkness. It was, to quote Bono, actually "a mole diggin' in a hole." It was cute, really, all dark and furry and chasing down a worm. Of course, I shouldn't be so charmed with a pest, but hey, it was cute, damnit. Anyway, I still have a very little lingering guilt over my dog killing two mole babies in the last few days. She doesn't try to eat them or anything. She chased one around and sniffed and sniffed at it. I don't know if it died of the stress or if she crushed it, but we caught her rolling around on it's tiny, tiny little corpse. I had leather work gloves on, so I wasn't squeamish about picking it up and flinging it over the fence so she'd stop messing with it.

Today doesn't sound like it's been a good day when I think back on it, but it was pleasant enough. I forgot that I was supposed to go to the dentist this morning and instead of being ready on time, I lounged around in pyjamas reading a book until Mom got home and yelled up the stairs to see if I was ready to go. We were a little late, but I got to the appointment on time. While I was getting a sonic cleaning, I was thinking. First that I'm really paranoid about my teeth and I don't think anything horrifies me more than the idea of my teeth coming out. *shudder, shudder* The other thing that I started thinking about is that I think I can hear higher pitches than most people. Or maybe I'm really unaware of other's abilities. But there are things like I can tell when audio is recorded off TV because there's a high whistle that goes with that and I can hear the high note that John Lennon put on the end of Sgt. Pepper "to confuse your dog." Anyway. A lot of high harmonica and high electric guitar bothers me and I wonder if that's why.

Anyway, I have to get going because the phone is needed. The rest of my day was spent out in the yard hacking away at the blackberry bushes in the back yard. I made great progress. I also managed to listen to London Calling and Elephant. And I dragged an old Christmas tree out of the brush... the third we've found. And there's one over the fence. Hahaha, my family amuses me.

Time for ice cream!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top