your southern can is mine

06.22.03 @ 4:18 p.m.

Wow, I guess it's been a couple of days since I wrote anything. Kind of a surprise, actually. Not much has happened. I'm a few pages away from the end of Carrie, having a sudden Stephen King urge. Something I've never really had before. But I read his On Writing and was massively impressed, then Everything's Eventual which only freaked me out in a couple of places. Mostly "The Road Virus Heads North," which instituted the "no Stephen King stories after 6:30 p.m." rule that winter. But I'm not scared by Carrie. Of course, having watched the recent remake of the movie, I basically know what's going to happen. And it isn't scary, to me. Not something-is-going-to-come-and-kill-me-in-the-night scary, anyway. He's a good writer, is Mr. King.

On the other end of the spectrum, I picked up seven Regency Romances and a copy of Tess of the d'Urbervilles at the good ol' paperback exchange. I felt very circle-of-life-y when I noticed that I was returning an equal number of books to the exchange.

Actually, yesterday was pretty cool. Mom and I went to a big rummage sale at our former church (former for me because I'm a godless heathen who was never really taken with Catholicism and left at the first opportunity, former for Mom because she's in the newly formed parish of San Juan Diego, I think it is) I bought a pretty pair of blue and white china candlesticks for $.25 and a kick-ass suede men's sportcoat for $1. It's so cool. I will wear it every day. And it looks so awesome on me. How can you go wrong for a dollar, anyway? Anyway, it's much classier than my thin, military-esque denim jacket that has far too many pockets. And probably warmer. I almost can't wait for next fall so I can wear it around campus. We also went to the library's secondhand store and bought some things for the house. Another candle holder, this time a tiny blue glass thing that holds a tea light (also $.25), a set of three drinking glasses, and four plates. They're nice, white with a blue border, and serviceable. Everyday kind of things. I also decided to buy this huge black mug with an amazon.com logo on it just for the heck of it. We spent less than $14 at the library resale shop, even with Mom buying a pair of shoes and a little purse. I really wanted to buy this super-8 video camera at the church rummage sale, but where are you going to get super-8 film nowadays? I just think shooting old fashioned home movies would rock. And where would you get the film developed? I guess I just have to pine for a sensibly sized videocamera. Ours is old and massive. It hurts to carry it. No fun. For a while Dad talked about buying a new camcorder if he sold D.B. (my name for the dog, everyone else called him 'Tuffy' to my annoyance), which he did, but then the district cut days so it meant we were losing money. At this point my mom is resisting letting me buy blank t-shirts to make iron-ons.

I have two plans for new t-shirts. One is a simple mod target on a baseball shirt with navy blue sleeves, the other is perhaps a regular t-shirt with the "This guitar has seconds to live" ad for The Kids Are Alright, but with all the writing at the bottom cut off. This picture, to be exact. I figure if it's just Pete, I'm not overdoing it on the Who. I should trawl through the other pictures on my computer and see if there's anything else I adore to the t-shirt making point. Martha's Keith Moon shirt is sadly already starting to crack. I offered her some of my shirt transfer stuff, which works beautifully, but she declined. Of course, I also compulsively iron it forever when I make the shirts. Maybe that makes a difference.

Whoops, Dad is awake and yelling at the dogs. We spent some of this afternoon listening to Blind Willie McTell after hearing a song of his on NPR's American Roots. I played the White Stripes' cover of "Your Southern Can Is Mine" for him. I am slightly annoyed that he didn't much comment on it but eagerly got his McTell CD from the other house. I guess I'm the same way, though. I toss off his stuff and make him listen to the Who or the White Stripes or Michael Nesmith or anything I really like. I should be less of a hypocrite, I guess. At least when it comes to music. : )

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top