a beach is a place where a man can feel he's the only soul in the world that's real...

06.17.03 @ 11:35 p.m.

It's not even late and I'm crashing. I'm just tired.

Today was beachy-fun. Well, we did surprisingly little for all the time we spent in Cannon Beach. Somehow we spent, like, hours sitting on a slightly sticky bench outside a candy/ice cream/tacky knick-knacks shop. Just talking. And Andrew managed to not swear... except the one moment when a woman passed by with two very small children. Whoops. Silly boy. The group consisted of me (naturally), Martha, Andrew, and a girl named Jenny that I knew in high school but not well. She's trying to reintegrate into the group after two years at school in California. Well, she's still a USC student, but I don't think she bothered to try last summer. Amy couldn't make it, which was just as well as it gave us free reign to alternately bitch about and psychoanalyze her. We are bad friends, I know, but we've reached the breaking point frustration-wise.

Andrew and Martha came to pick me up and we decided to add Jenny to the car when we got to the designated meeting place (McDonalds--classy, no?) and we headed out to the beach. It's about sixty miles away. Possibly the most fun thing we did was head into The Rage, which is a bead shop. Well, there's also insane amounts of incense and big chunky rings and the like. It's a giant Saturday Market booth. Martha and I spent some time searching through the rings in order to find a 'poison ring', one of those rings with a great big stone with a compartment underneath. We found a tiny one but we also found this GIANT ring (not a poison ring, though) that was too big for all of us, including big manly Andrew. We were exlaiming over it and how huge it was when we noticed a punkish boy next to us snickering. Martha turned to him and held out the ring. "Would this fit your finger?" she asked. "Oh my god," Punkish boy cried. "That IS huge!" I love amusing strangers. We also made him and the clerk laugh with our discussion of a big ring with a little dangling padlock. I picked it out of the case and passed it over. "What do you make of this?" I asked. "Maybe it's a chastity belt for your finger," she mused. "You know, so you know that it's not being unfaithful." I laughed and so did the others. "Think of the connotations of what you're saying," I advised. The four of us made way for a woman who actually wanted to buy a ring, so we went over and the four of us (Martha, me, Andrew and Jenny--not clerk and Punkish Boy) examined the selection of incense. Martha kept repeating the name "Sweet Magnolia" in what I would call a dirty old man voice as we sniffed and discussed the names of various kinds of incense. Martha pulled out a stick called "Oasis" and said "This is what the Gallagher brothers must smell like." Andrew wasn't thinking and took her seriously for a moment. "Himalayan Quest" was declared to be what Sir Edmund Hillary smells like, and "Ganja" was analyzed until it was decided that it smelled like grape Kool-Aid. It was cool, but we pretty well killed our senses of smell. Jenny and Martha both bought tiny, tiny pairs of skull earrings as they were the yearbook pirates senior year of high school. After we said something about it only being fair to buy something after spending so much time browsing and mocking their products, and the clerk told us he was actually sorry to see us go because we were very entertaining. Go us!

We also all took Dum-Dum lollypops left out for "the young at heart." And later realized that as we stood outside the window of the taffy store that the guys on the otherside of the glass could likely hear us talking loudly about them and the products of their story. Heh heh.

More store browsing was done and we sat on that bench for ages just talking and talking. We also went into a store that was heavy on the Christian products, which we mocked quietly a little, but mostly talked about the book My Side of the Mountain. And Harry Potter. Oooh, I wonder if they were uncomfortable with us discussing witchcraft in their tidy little store?

Our last stop was Ecola Seafood, where we ALWAYS go. I hate fish. I really do. I ordered chicken, though usually I just get an order of fries. I burned my mouth on the chicken, too, damnit. They have the craziest thing in the bathroom there! It's a motion sensative paper towel dispenser. You wave your hand in front of the little eye and a little motor whirrs into action dispensing your paper towel. It's almost SCARY it's so weird. We were the only ones in there besides the guy behind the counter, which seemed odd for summer but we eventually remembered it's a Tuesday and it's just the very beginning of summer.

I came home and my parents were finally here. It seems ages since I've seen them rather than just a week, but it's a relief to have people here again even if it means an end to late night electric guitar playing. Dad has given me the Crate amp for when I move to Eugene in fall! YES! I've never had my own amp before, and I am excited even though it's not great. I ought to move the amp and guitar up here into the living room, then I can play at night with my big headphones, if I can find what damn box they're in.

Hmm. It's after midnight and I'm really very tired. Plus parents at home means I won't be able to sleep as long as I want. I think I'll probably go and read more of Love in Disguise, the current Regency Romance I picked up even though I read the end yesterday evening. Naughty.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top