i can see for miles

06.10.03 @ 4:39 p.m.

Oh my god. Ohmygodohmygodohmygod. I just had the best afternoon. Bravery is not to be underrated. I got up the courage to knock on Prof. Saunders door today as he was clearly 'in' and commented on the Who photo on his door. Hee. I'm so giddy. Anyway. I talked to him about the Who and rock and roll and good film footage of the Who and how he's enamoured of the Isle of Wight DVD right now for like, 45 minutes! YEAH!

Saunders is the fantastic British professor I had fall term... I had a bit of a thing for him--BECAUSE HE'S FUCKING WONDERFUL! AAAH! His brilliance knows no bounds.

He told me he was listening to Quadrophenia when Entwistle died.

He told me he thought it was almost scandalous that they didn't cancel the tour after Entwistle's death.

He just got Isle of Wight and was saying that he makes people watch Pete do "I Don't Even Know Myself" because at the end Keith loses his stick and no one in the band even notices. "That's really the definition of functional alcoholism," Saunders said.

Oh, Keith is so his favorite. It's very clear that he's into Moon. He recommended Moon's biography to me as 'summer reading'. (Also Hellfire, Jerry Lee Lewis' biography. Claimed that it was guarenteed to make me go out and buy three albums.) (I'm bouncing up and down on my bed, I've got so much extra energy.) He was really dismissive of just about anything done after Moon's death and was enthusiastic about my plan to watch The Kids Are Alright tomorrow. He said it was fantastic but also "sad because you really see Moon start to degenerate."

I love that when I talked about the reissue of A Quick One, he said that Roger was still trying to be in control--he hadn't realised that it was Townshend's band. "He had this bizarre idea that they could be a Motown band even though they were white. And from London."

I'm also encouraged to go out and get Who By Numbers next.

What was also incredibly brilliant was when he said "I'm on a Beatles kick again, and I was just listening to 'I Saw Her Standing There.' Even though it's 40 years old, it still sounds fresh and new. Not like any music that was 40 years old when I was a twenty year old. And it sounds like that because it was music made by young people. They were only 19, 20, 21 years old when they produced this music." I think I chimed in at this point with something vapid about how I had just been listening to My Generation and realized that they were all YOUNGER THAN ME when they did that album. And of course, being so obviously a Moon fan, Saunders starts talking about how being a drummer was all Keith had ever done, he started so young.

Oh my lord, one of the funniest moments in the conversation was when he reached up, tapped Townshend's picture and said, "Art school boy." It was almost affectionate. Heehee. I'm utterly charmed by it.

Oh. I am just on cloud nine. Why aren't there more perfectly brilliant people in this world?

All I lack for this to be the PERFECT day is a chance to run into Who Boy. But I can't ask for too much, can I?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top