my generation

06.07.03 @ 7:49 p.m.

It's so freaking hot today! I'm wearing a tank top for the first time in ages... which, I suppose, is only signifigant if you know that I rarely deviate from the jeans/t-shirt combination. Not shorts, not tank tops. For one thing, it means keeping up with all the inconvenient shaving, which I must admit I'm a bit lazy about.

I was delighted this evening by the boy at the salad bar of Grab and Go wearing a "chicks dig pale, scrawny guys" t-shirt. Thinking of the wide variety of people I see around here, I am reminded of Samurai Hair guy, who has a full beard and always wears his hair (which must be quite long) in a bun on top of his head. It's not attractive.

Today was spent out and about when I finally got myself out of bed. I slept long and well last night after staying up past two reading, then spent some time just reading and checking email, what have you. I think a new chapter of Marry in Haste, Repent at... was posted at the DWG this morning. Plus I'm really into my rereading of Heir to the Empire, though I remember my early Star Wars days. I was not in the Mara Jade/Luke Skywalker camp, though I grew to violently hate Callista like the rest. One of the reasons I stopped reading Star Wars was the petty way authors tried to destroy each other's characters... though I think most of Timothy Zahn's remained intact. He's pretty much responsible for the birth of the contemporary Star Wars novelization. So yeah. I'm a little put out that, ah, what's the second one? Dark Force Rising? Whichever, the second in the series is at home, which means I have to wait a week until I can continue, because I'll be done soon with my current book. These books are quite good. I'm remembering so much. I think I'll have to read Spector of the Past and Vision of the Future again, where Luke and Mara finally realize they're meant for one another. Awww....

I'm flashing back to my years as Mirax Terrik on the Excite SF/F message boards. There were good people there, Wedge, Captain Pellaeon, IG-88, Sandperson... We wrote a group roundrobin type story about infiltrating a Star Destroyer, possibly the Chimaera, the Captain's SD. Possibly an SSD, because we all gave ourselves Super Star Destroyers, the most kick-ass ship in all the Empire.

Do I astound you with my geekiness right now? I miss those days. I miss the group. We were all 14, 15 years old and almost exclusively female, which I find interesting.

Anyway. I went to get my Greyhound ticket for Friday today and saw Saturday Market beckoning from a couple of blocks down. It was completely not worth it. Crowded, hot, smokey (from the food vendors plus incense that characterizes Eugene), and full of unwashed bodies, matted hair, ugly tie dye and and hemp clothes. Just too much neo-hippieness for my taste, and I left quickly. I remember reading something about Townshend seeing through the idealism of the hippie movement at Monterey and seeing the corruption to come. I think I'm too cynical to like the drug culture that seems to reign around here. And maybe it's the fact that I'm practically straightedge.

That's not the point. I don't know if there is a point. It was hot, I wandered around downtown Eugene. Next to the downtown bus station is a used bookstore. In the window, a book of the Broadway score to Tommy attracts my attention every time. I think we have it in the school library, too. Tonight I think I'm going to work on the readings for the last section of the Philosophy course and take pictures off my wall. Maybe I'll take some time to draw, too.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top