boris the spider

06.07.03 @ 12:29 a.m.

Hurrah for specialized music friends--I just spent, wow, over two hours talking to Candace on Instant Messanger, flipping through Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere (PS-Ha, look at Roger all tough with the guitar on pg. 177!) and just generally talking Who and Townshend. So much fun. I am very very thoroughly convinced that I need to go the U of O Library and watch their laserdisc of The Kids Are Alright before I leave for summer. And so I shall. I've never watched a video in the reserve room, but there's a first time for everything. Hopefully I will be able to contain my "Ohmygodlookit's PETE" impulses, right? Heehee. I can't remember what I was listening to today, but something made me giggle and inhale at the same time and I made a funny "squeef!" noise. Which amused me. I'm such a girl, more and more when it comes to Pete. And I used to be so proud of loving a band without having a crush on any of them... oh well. I guess there's the Clash for that. And the White Stripes... I may love Jack White's voice, but he himself is pretty creepy.

E* just came in and tells me a party got out of control on 16th street. I'm actually rather surprised I haven't heard more drunken nonsense through my window yet tonight. I think it was last night that we heard someone shout "Unprotected sex! Yeah!" for no apparent reason at past 1 in the morning. Aaah, college life!

I will not miss living on campus. No, certainly not.

I actually got distracted for the last, oh, twenty mintues reading my Who book. It's fascinating. It really is.

So. Today. Add to my mounting paranoia about my journalism project the fact that if I did not have a nice teacher, I would be failing Italian because of too many absences. I cannot believe I was risking it that badly. I had no idea I missed seven classes. Six is the cut off for expulsion from the class, but I told my teacher about my project and how I was working on it up until the last minute on Wednesday, and she said "Ah, well, you have a good reason," and tells me that it will drop my grade, but I won't fail... because of that. I'm doing so badly this term. I just don't know what the problem is. Why I can't concentrate and buckle down and just WORK. I can't do it.

Ironically, the computer speakers are pumping out "Doctor, doctor, doctor make me we-e-ell...." when I think "Maybe I need therapy or something..." I love the Who. Things like this always seem to happen when I listen to them.

It was so hot this evening that around six-ish, I went across the street to buy ice cream, and of course they were cleaned out of anything good. So I bought a frozen lemonade thing, took my Star Wars book (Heir to the Empire, haven't read it in ages) out to a shady spot on the EMU east lawn, took off my shoes and socks and read for an hour. It was nice. Except that I felt slightly damp from the grass. It was worse this morning in philosophy when we all went out on the lawn and I elected for the shade. See, they water the lawns at night and the shady bits aren't dry by 9. So I sat on my backpack and hoped I wasn't crushing my walkman or the copy of Townshend's Empty Glass inside it. I think we did pretty well on the Italian Oral final. I feel terrible about the absences thing. Horrible. So embarassed. I really want to forget about it, but I don't know if I can any time soon.

Jeez. E*'s bought hemp shoes. It's ridiculous. This on top of her defense of SUVs. She's denying that she said she 'wanted' one, which I remember clearly. Ugh. I am very ready to go home and just be away from PEOPLE for a while. I can't be very polite much longer. In fact, I just made a snarky comment about said shoes (which, I must say, are hideously ugly. Just horrible. I know, I shouldn't be so critical, but she... it... they... oof. I just cannot believe the bizarreness of this girl.) What is it with her and hemp? I don't understand it at all.

Also, the amount of insects in this room is insane.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top