good news, bad news, furnishing!

05.27.03 @ 3:26 p.m.

Though my only interest in the Bible is as a literary work, I am impressed and amused by this, which is bits of the Bible re-enacted by... LEGO. It's pretty funny in a couple of places. I was impressed by the first bit in the Noah's ark one, which had people sinning. There was a guy having sex with a LEGO sheep, and, inexplicably, Jar Jar Binks in the far background.

I'm surprised to realize that I know large tracts of the Old Testament from reading The Red Tent, which I thought was quite good. I stayed up until 2 one night trying to finish it and ended up crying like crazy. Jodi loaned it to me, and I'm glad she did. I doubt I ever would have read it otherwise.

We went out to our new house, E* and I, this afternoon. I have to say, with all that insulation it was lovely and cool inside. So that made me happy. And getting to it via bus is very, very convenient as the bus goes down our street. The bus to UO stops half a block away and the bus from school stops right across the street. Yay. And it comes every half hour, except it doesn't run at all on Sundays, which is kind of a bummer. But I'm hoping that I'll have my license and maybe a car next year. Even if I did, I'd still be taking the bus to school every day. I mean, it's free and it stops right outside. My room is very small indeed, but that's okay. All I really need is room for a bed and my dresser. I don't really need a desk, though I'd like one. Well, I think I do need one, actually. I guess I need to find a small desk. I need to A) sand the top off my ugly as sin desk at home, which is scarred and horrid or B) glue a piece of formica or something to the top. Either way, it needs a paint job. Fun summer project--I could decoupage some of my funky clippings from my art box to it. Oooh, I love coming up with big, craftsy project. I was also thinking of taking another ugly thing, the trash can my ex-sister-in-law gave me when I was a preteen that has my name painted on it (it's white with red and yellow paint on it, it's really horrid), and painting it to a state of loveliness.

The best news of the last few days, however, is this: Billy, our dog whom I've written about before, won the Pacific Northwest Futurity. Dad promises to email the show pics when he gets them, but all I have right now is this picture of Billy from last summer when he was just a little baby:

Now Billy can compete in the National Futurity in Daytona Beach. The other brilliant thing about it is that Dad gave a young handler, a seventeen year old girl, a chance and hired her for handle Billy at the NW Futurity. I can just imagine how thrilled she was to be handling the winning dog. I wish I could have been there, but I was, alas, en route from Portland to Eugene. It's so brilliant for us, for the kennel. So much prestige! Everyone was so sincere in congratulating Dad. I'm immensely proud.

The bad news is that the goat died. I guess she just keeled over. It happened, oh, two weeks ago, but no one remembered to tell me until the other day. She will be missed.

Oh, and I saw former neighbor Heather (who annoyed the bajeezus out of me last year) walking a pair of dalmation pups on campus about an hour and a half ago. Yeah, they're stylish, but their not great pets. The breed is plagued with problems and they're difficult to train. Not a smart choice, in my opinion.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top