little acorns

05.28.03 @ 3:14 p.m.

Okay, there was some serious bizarreness today. I wouldn't be surprised if there's more to come. Also, I have listened to the White Stripes' "Elephant" three or four times since I taped it last night. iTunes has this new(ish) feature of shared music, but you can only stream it off other people's computers, you can't copy or download. Sucks. I'm too lazy to find a proper download program for Mac, so I just took my AV cord (which I bought to hook the computer to TVs, basically making my computer a glorified DVD player), hooked it into my stereo, and made a cassette tape. I also copied a cover of 99 Red Balloons. Clearly I'm into this--I bought a five pack of audio tapes today. When night comes and the load on the servers is lightened, I shall make a copy of White Blood Cells, too. Muahaha. It's not even that I feel piratey, I'm more proud of myself for figuring it out. Anyway. On to today.

I guess I'll go chronologically. The really odd thing just happened an hour ago, but I'll go over the other little notations I made today before I forget them.

The first thing that really struck me today happend during Philosophy of Art. Almost-Townshend-Doppleganger sat in front of me (I sit in, oh, the third or fourth row, he usually sits in the front) and I was reminded that sometime last week I spotted what looked like a wedding ring! Shocked, I was shocked. I guess I just don't think of classmates that look like they're my age being married, even though I know several of my former high school classmates who got hitched. Usually because someone got knocked up. Anyway. I assume everyone is familiar with the contagious-yawn phenomenon, but recently I've noticed the very similar contagious-sniffle phenomenon. A guy next to me sniffled. I, too, felt the irresistible urge to do the same. Milliseconds later, about five people sniffled simultaneously, and it was all I could do not to laugh or at least grin at this odd little observation. I feel like such the anthropologist sometimes, noting and observing. But I guess being observant is kind of a writerly thing, too.

I also decided that since I put in a late night studying, it was at least slightly okay that I elected to skip Italian in favor of a long nap. I was annoyed at first, because E* brought in this revolting-smelling breakfast burrito thing and that made it hard to sleep. I did sleep eventually and had odd dreams that involved candy and being mistaken for girls trying to break out of an all-girls private school and someone... driving a car through a wall? And odd things about towers and flight simulations. Like I was playing with a helicopter flight simulator and I landed the helicopter on this tower, but I could also walk up to it; it was a model about as tall as me. I reached in and moved a model of a woman around. Lots of strange things. I woke up in a puddle of drool, which was pretty gross. I haven't done that in a while. I remember once Hot Garret said something about drooling so much when he sleeps he wakes up with his pillow soaked every morning. Blegh. And yet, he remains Hot Garret. (Speaking of gorgeous boys, in a fit of "Fucking essay, what else can I possible do to distract myself for five minutes?", I looked up Who Boy again. Or at least, what I'm fairly sure Who Boy's name is. The address changed from some out of town thing to an apartment in horrible grown-up-dorms-apartment-complex Street. My friend Moni is a leasing agent for one of those complexes. One of the reasons E* and I went looking for a house was that we did not want to live in what are essentially dorms on a larger scale. Parties and morons tra la tra la.)

Food today seems absolutely revolting. I don't know what it is (hormonal? Hmm, I should keep track of this, like how I'm supposed to keep track of headaches but don't) but every now and then, my stomach can be growling like mad, but the mere sight of food just makes me ill. All I've eaten today is, ah, like five baby carrots and half a rice krispie treat. And a big cup of pepsi. Yeah, I'm a healthy, healthy girl. I was contemplating a workout, but now I'm thinking "I don't want to faint in the rec center!" so I guess that's out. Plus it's freaking hot, I don't know if I want to get sweaty. But that's a good excuse for a cool, cool shower. Mmmm.

Okay, so now for the big, weird thing of my day. I had an astronomy test today. I was good, I even got to class early to study my meger notes (I missed to lectures and never bought the textbook.) I'll just reprint what I wrote in my little tiny notebook:

"5/28 - 2:10

"Zimmerman [the astronomy professor] is now ten minutes late. Jason-asshole from last year stood and gave a speech I couldn't hear apart from a "Who's with me?!?" at the end. I think he was advocating a walkout. I shall wait & write because I already missed a test & I need these points. People are starting to leave. I picked up the notebook because I caught a snippet of conversation behind me, mostly consisting of "yeah... I guess I'd feel bad if he really did have a heart attack." These were guys talking. A group of Barbie Girls keep saying "Ohmigod, we should leave! They're leaving. Isn't there, like, a ten minute rule?" And yet they stay. In the massive wall of conversation noise, I just caught a guy saying, "He said don't leave, it's a bad idea." 'He' being, I presume, the course grader. This guy is stuck looking at all our homework (those of us that DO homework, ha). "Ohmigod," Barbie Girl next to me squeaks. "I'm too scared to leave."

""Go, go, go," the other girls squeak/chant. The first girl is clearly their leader. Thankfully, they have left. It is now 2:20 and I would guess over a hundred people have left. I would even say up to 2/3rds of the class has left, and this room holds 500. I may leave at the half hour mark knowing I could not complete the test. I'm tempted to leave now. I doubt Zimmerman will show now, with half the period gone. It's not as if my vague study isn't entertaining, though.

"Whoa! He's HERE. Cheer erupted. Oh my fucking lord, he's passing out the test!"

"I don't know what to make of this."

I guessed a lot and probably didn't do so very well on this test, but hey, I stuck around and got to take it. And I know that ASTR is cancelled on Friday, so I don't have to bother going! Waiting actually paid off. I am shocked and amazed. I almost typed "shocked and awed," but who wants to play into a Bush-ism?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top