sunny afternoon

05.26.03 @ 12:26 a.m.

I don't know whether I'm amused or alarmed to look up at the ceiling in our living room and realize that there's more water damage AFTER Dad finished 'fixing' the roof than there ever was before. My parents try to be all suave by doing things themselves, and it is inevitably fucked up. Painting the house? God forbid anyone finish it. I did a lot of that myself. The kitchen? Do I start with the hideous tile work my mother did? Not only are the tiles at just about any angle, but (and maybe this is the anal perfectionist in me speaking (who only comes out in matters of aesthetics, I think)) she couldn't be fucking bothered to make sure the tiles were cut straight? They turned out horrible and curved the first time and she didn't make any effort to do it better later on. Then there's the fact that there's no wall above the cabinets above the sink, just a sinister dark hole. The drywall nailed to the wrong side of a beam near the bathroom, leaving a gap in the wall--now stuffed with newspaper. Lack of a bathroom wall--just a gap into the water heater closet. Jesus Christ. There's a hole in my bedroom ceiling, too, where we took out a light fixture but never replaced it. Unfinished walls. The list goes on and on and it fucking annoys me. Next time they start talking project, I am not going to have any compunction about giving the list of unfinished projects. It's EMBARASSING. Maybe it would be less so if they didn't do such shoddy work. That's the crime of it. When they were first married, their home improvement projects didn't suck. Maybe that's because Dad did most of the work then, and his carpentry skills hadn't atrophied.

Aagh. I've made this rant too many times before.

This afternoon (which, despite the title of this entry bordered on chilly and was quite overcast), I had to go to the opposite side of town to go to my uncle and aunt's house for a memorial day/grandma's birthday dinner. It was actually quite good, but I feel slightly awkward around my aunt and uncle. I'm not sure why. I wish they would hurry up and watch my A Hard Day's Night DVD so I can have it back. It was pleasant enough. I did, however, get whapped in the face by a hundred pounds of over enthusiastic German Shepherd. Billy, to be precise. He was there because my dad came directly from a dog show.

Last night was much more fun. I just started writing out all we did and realized that that's what the last entry was. Whoops.

Last, and probably least, I've been playing Sim Tower all weekend. Instead of homework. Damnit.

PS-- This is HILARIOUS.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top