well respected man

05.13.03 @ 2:21 p.m.

I have a little problem.

While going back through the 'Shameless Padding' thread on the NaNoWriMo boards, I had revelations on revitalizing and totally rearranging the story I've been alternately calling "Rael" and "Traveler and Celeste" or "Traveler and Finder." Fear that I won't be able to come up with another good plot makes me want to save the idea for next November (when I shall be lobbying Slavik to join me in NaNoWriMo insanity, I think). But now I really WANT to work on it.

Of course, the other reason I shouldn't start working on it now is that I'm in the midst of Infohell. Not only that, but I'm BEHIND in my Infohell work. In fact, in half an hour I'm going to try to convince myself to hole up in the EMU to get some more work done, maybe start drafting my outline. It's due Friday, anyway. Eek.

I begin to think I have no sanity left. Did I have any to start with?

Yesterday's shopping mission was EVENTUALLY successful. Somehow, whenever I want a specific pair of shoes, I have to search hither and yon and visit at least two malls to achieve my goal. So yeah, finding what should have been a simple pair of Converse All-Stars required visiting both Gateway Mall and Valley River Center. They had the shoes at Gateway Footlocker, but somehow they only had the ONE SHOE in my size. Couldn't find the other shoe anywhere. Okay, whatever. I finally got my Sex Pistols CD at Fye. I've only listened to it a little, partly out of respect for the fact that E* says she at least USED to hate them, though I have no idea what the current feeling is. She used to hate Radiohead, too, but has two of their albums now. Mostly, I've listened to "God Save the Queen" and "Anarchy in the UK" which are the two songs we listened to in Rock History and the two songs that I really wanted. Judgement on the rest will have to wait, but I can easily say right now that the Sex Pistols haven't the power to move me the way Townshend does with so little effort, or even my London Calling CD. Interesting and enjoyable, but not inspiring passionate regard.

Not that I expected anything else.

I found my shoes eventually, after the VRC Footlocker guys express bemusement at their not having any Converse anymore, and direct me to Journeys. Which I passed and didn't see the shoes even thought they were on a rack sitting in the entrance. But I'm a bit of a twit. Luckily, I decided to give it one last look before leaving. So shopping-wise, yesterday was a success, even if it was a bit of a trial.

Then a great thing happened on the bus. This guy got on at Eugene station talking to this woman about hymns. I despaired a little, because he was so cutely hipsterish and kind of reminded me in personality of Slavik. But it would seem he was just academically interested in finding out if he had the lyrics to a hymn right because of something to do with (I think) poetry open mic night. I did managed to tell him I thought the phrase "heavenly host" referred to angels rather than God himself. Definately not from a churchy background, this young man. So he's asking everyone, but he's so good-natured that we're all amused. What was wonderful was when we pulled up to the center of campus, and he said, "Oh man, Jesus guy isn't here! I could've asked him!" We do have one of the coolest, laid back Jesus guys I've ever seen. I got of at the same stop he did, between Collier House and the EMU. He headed toward the Buzz Coffeehouse, which I had to pass on my way to the dorms and got to overhear the following:

Hymn-guy: Hey, you guys don't happen to know the lyrics to a hymn that goes like this *sings hymn* ?
Guy slouched outside the Buzz, smoking: No, sorry.
Hymn-guy: Thanks anyway.
Smoker: Hey, you don't happen to have a cigarette, do you?
Hymn-guy: No, sorry.
Smoker: Hey, that's cool.
*Hymn-guy starts to walk away*
Smoker [jokingly]: God bless you!
*Hymn-guy whirls around*
Hymn-guy [passionately at first but then mockingly]: Have you accepted Jesus Christ into your heart as salvation from your own personal hell? Because he died for your sins....
*wait for it*
...you son of a bitch!

That made my night. I kept walking with a huge grin on my face and they stood around laughing for a moment. It was brilliant. These are the things in life I love, moments of sheer humor. How can you live without laughing at life?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top