i can't reach you

05.03.03 @ 12:46 a.m.

I've just added something to the little sidebar called "Booklist". It's basically a vicious theft from Mer, but I thought it was an interesting concept. So there lies a list of books I've read (for entertainment) since February. Only nine. That doesn't seem like enough, but I have read a lot of online work. Plus I haven't listed stuff I haven't finished. I think I'd finish Jane Eyre if my copy weren't folio sized. It's freaking huge.

Muahaha. I pestered Slavik again tonight. I enjoy talking to him too much, what can I say? I resisted asking what I wanted to ask, which is "How tall are you again?" because I cannot for the life of me remember if he's taller than me. I would think so. I'm only about 5'5" or so. Well, that's acutally taller than a lot of my friends, but hey. Dunno. I remember him as a sloucher, anyway. Whoops, the whole reason I pestered Slavik is to tell him that Yoko was going to be on Conan, and what am I doing? Listening to the Clash and typing merrily away. That's okay, I watch the Comedy Central two-day-later repeats while I eat lunch, anyway. And I don't much care for Yoko.

I've totally bashed my dad's guitar playing to Slavik. Mostly to express my own frustration with him (Dad) being very set in his ways whilst playing and generally having, I believe, a higher opinion of his skills than reality reflects. Still, I don't think he's so bad as I've made him out to be to Slavdawg. Haha, okay, I just like writing 'Slavdawg." He actually signed an email to me with that name once. Looking back at my inbox, this is an email that also started with "yo yo wickity wack."

Okay, now we've established that I keep too many emails. You should see how many of Martha's I have saved, and I even went through a recent bit of spring cleaning on those. Eeg. But then, Martha tends to say interesting things in emails.

It's another night that's bad for me socially. This is because instead of actually interacting with people (Slavik not withstanding--IM doesn't count), I sat around, wrote a little, and worked on a minor update to my art site. Oh, and I made a subdirectory with all the AIM icons I've made, if anybody wants some. Currently, I'm using this one: I am so in love with that picture of Pete. I dunno why. I'm just charmed by it.

In other Ellen news, I think I did pretty well on my Italian oral midterm. My partner, Chelsea, was pretty optimistic. We each thought the other did better presenting a help-wanted ad we had to find online. Of course, both of us were reading straight off the printouts, but we managed to memorize our situation of choice pretty well. We had to talk about job ambitions, I chose photojournalism, or voglio diventare una fotogiornalista. I had to slip some english in as I couldn't figure out how to say 'cemetary'.

E* and I took a walk today and I considered again what it says about me that my favorite place on campus is the cemetary. But the monuments are so fantastic, old Victorian things with draped urns. It looks like they put a new head on the Civil War monument, which actually kind of makes me sad because it's not quite in the same style as the body. I think I liked him better headless. At least then there was a mild creepiness factor. I doubt I'll soon forget the first time I saw that thing, headless in the fog on the way back from Rock History.

I still kind of miss Who Boy.

The other part of the walk was for E* to take me to see the photo of the Who that the dearly admired Professor Saunders has on his office door. He also has a sticker that says "I love my 'Stones'" underneath the Who. I'm not positive it's a Rolling Stones reference, but I could easily see him as a fan of the British Invasion trinity like myself. E* also had to return a video she kept late (on my account, no less) and immediately after, we went to the store for (guess!) Fresca. She's never had it before and has taken a fancy to it. Hmm. Perhaps I should hide my new stash. I also bought a jar of dry roasted peanuts, which I started liking after my dad started Zone dieting a couple of years ago, so they're a fixture at my house now. And I was hungry for something salty.

I'm thinking of going to Saturday Market tomorrow to get something for Mother's Day. I wanted to get a wind chime for Mom last Christmas, though I'm starting to wonder how sensible that is when my dog considers all wind chimes as violent intruders that must be dealt with through a program of fierce barking. Did I say 'fierce'? I meant 'bloody annoying.' Sorry for the confusion. I'm also wanting to get some Converse to replace my rapidly deteriorating Adidas. Well, actually, I think they'll hold up for quite some time, but they're really scruffy and being leather, kind of hot for the summer months. The last decision to be made is of color. Do I go with black (which feels like copying Martha), blue (too much blue, I think, to have dark jeans and dark shoes) or red (is it too flashy for me?) I'm leaning toward red right now. I mean, hell, I wear those bowling-shoe-esque Sketchers all the time, right? I'm a little nervous about making such a purchase without a parental consult, but I don't really need it and so I think I'll just plow ahead. If I go to Gateway tomorrow, I can cruise Target and go to Footlocker.

I lead an exciting life, eh?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top