sparks

05.01.03 @ 12:46 p.m.

I'm in the library, illicitly using a computer here to write this instead of working on my research, but hey, I'm doing good today. I feel like I've made a break-through by narrowing my focus down to Oregon schools and even narrower to Hillsboro, which is one of the hardest hit. This is all great, too, because I can try to work my mother's connectons and talk to Margaret, who is some kind of liason with OEA, and Ike Maness, who is the current president of the Hillsboro teachers' union. Sweet. And he was quoted, today I think, in a New York Times editorial! I can ask him what he meant by the Mississippi of the West comment that was quoted. SWEET. This is so thrilling and I don't know why. I've hit some kind of geek event horizon. Haha. I'm still mega-behind on my research, but I'm going to dig through some specialized journals right now IF I can find some recent copies of Education Week here. They seem to be, ah, mislaid. Or just not here, damn it, which is very frustrating indeed. I got some new articles, too, though it's likely I won't use many of them. They're short newspaper things. I need to get more out of proper magazines, though happily I do have a fairly recent article from London's Economist talking about how wonderful Portland teachers are. And my periodical searches have lead me to a book (that I should really go fetch right now).

Wow. I'm enjoying doing research. I suppose I should exploit these databases as much as possible while I'm a student. And I should get over myself and talk to the government document people or the reference librarians, but I still fear librarians just a little. I'm so bad, social-anxiety-disorder-wise.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top