the right profile

04.30.03 @ 12:51 p.m.

The day started out so nicely, despite oversleeping and having to run to Philosophy 15 minutes late and sans shower (blah--Luckily I have an hour break afterwards that I was able to use to make up for my lost morning time). Today was the second time this week that I wore a Star Wars shirt, specifically my Chewie shirt, which looks very faux seventies in design. Anyway. So a guy in class who is actually walking the line between 'talkative classmate' and 'pedantic bastard' said "Hey, cool shirt," as I was exiting class. Funny, because when I wore my Empire Strikes Back shirt on Monday, the cashier at Subway said, "Hey, I dig your shirt." Haha, I love it when people who aren't me say "dig."

The feeling of foreboding came when I saw the protesters I will shortly be ranting about walking ahead of me down the path to central campus. "Fuck," I thought. "Abortion protestors."

Now, whether or not I agree with a group (which is not to suggest that I do agree with these people, I'm just making blanket statements now covering all protestors), I will always take issue with any group that resorts to any kind of scare or disgust tactics to try to prove their point. If you need a photo of a skinned cow's disembodied head or a mangled fetus to prove your point, THEN YOUR RATIONAL ARGUMENTS ARE NOT STRONG ENOUGH. I strongly disapprove of anyone that tries to frighten someone into agreeing with them. It's hard to be articulate, I'm angry. I had the same problems last year with PETA, which is why I bring up the cow's head. What kind of argument do you have, how informed are you when all you try to do to get people to join your side is to show them gory photos? I'm sorry, that's not good enough and I think it's just a dirty trick. It's, I want to say it's not ethical. It's not honorable, in my opinion. If you can't be rational, then you are not worth my time. As far as I'm concerned, it indicates a kind of ignorance. Look at this photo! This thing is bad, see! Now you have to agree with me. Fuck no. Tell me why, and if you can convince me, then fine, but how fucking stupid do you think I am if you think that a single photo is a convincing argument? Maybe I'm angry because my intelligence is insulted, but I still feel like it's an issue of ethics.

I have a very low opinion of most extremists.

I think I just want to bury myself in London Calling, Quadrophenia, or Odds & Sods. Some music. Quadrophenia has been on my mind all morning because we were talking in Philosophy about what music expresses if it cannot express a definite emotion, what does it express? We were listening to different pieces without lyrics and talking about how they could represent any number of emotions and how merely changing the title changes perceptions. I kept thinking about Overture from dear Tommy being used for allergy medication and how much I love the song "Helpless Dancer" and the other places where Roger's theme pops up in Quadrophenia.

I'm strongly tempted to steal Liz and Sten's usual entry naming method, though I probably wouldn't make it as relavant as them. Eh. I just use bits of lyrics or titles anyway.

There. We've pushed the issues out of our system, now it's time for lunch, eh?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top