apologetic rain

04.16.03 @ 9:55 p.m.

I have to admit with some small amount of shame that I've been labelling Amy (in my mind) as this huge music poser and totally inferior in taste and understanding to me. And to be quite honest, I still kind of think that. Mostly I'm surprised that she's taken to the Strokes. Maybe I'm upset because I want to keep that just a me and Martha thing. I'm selfish and not very nice, when it gets right down to it. And frankly, Amy has a stereotypically gay man's taste in music. She worships Cher and Madonna and, well, I have a hard time respecting that.

If you don't know how huge a music snob I am by now, well, I guess you can consider yourself warned. Maybe I should blame that conversation with Slavik last week. We were being such snobs to each other, and while I can't speak for him, I enjoyed the hell out of it. We were artists and musicians and had spent half the time showing each other our work. I love it so much.

My musical superiority complex is structured mainly around the grand trinity of British Rock: The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, and The Who. I love them all. The last two days have been Rolling Stones intensive, which is interesting because they're the least represented in my music collection. And I shouldn't be such a snob because, well, I have extensive expertise on the Monkees, a much maligned pop band, but it's also worth mentioning that the more I analyze that, the more I realize that I primarily love the Monkees as TV pioneers and for Michael Nesmith's country rock. I could happily do without all but a couple of Davy Jones songs. ("Early Morning Blues And Greens" being one of the exceptions to the rule stating that Davy produces ballads so bad I need insulin after hearing them.)

But enough about that. I actually thought earlier today in terms of writing here. I do that a lot, but the ideas are usually lost before I can get them down. I was thinking of poetic ways to describe the heavy rain that was falling on me after Astronomy class today (on that note: I have a test on Friday that I didn't really know about. Haha, I bought Amtrak tickets that necessitate skipping Astronomy... Whoops). It was a really heavy rain shower, but it fell without any real force. It was almost soft, and I tried to come up with creative adjectives for the rain. Eventually, the best one I came up with was 'apologetic'. It didn't fall with any malice or weight, and if it was a bit warmer, it would have been pleasant.

Twenty years it's taken me to become cavalier about rain. I don't care anymore, it doesn't bother me for perhaps the first time in my life. Wow.

My head aches, I think I'm in caffeine withdrawl, and I may be force to journey to the basement to the vending machines for a coke or something.

This weekend will see me back in Portland. I might try to get together with Martha, and there are plans made for the parental units and myself to go have dinner at my brother's house for the first time. First time for me, anyway. It's not surprising, my brother really never thinks of me, and I guess it's become mutual. I spend my time making fun of his irresponsibility, his two marriages by the time he's thirty, and the fact that my siblings and I are by no means close. Or at least they're not close to me. To each other, well, I'm not really in a position to know. They share both parents and really grew up together. I'm just the much younger half sister.

Jesus, I sound maudlin. It's the headache, I swear.

I also mass-replied a bunch of people who were spammed with an email hoax by my friend Andrew. I put the Snopes link detailing that particular chain letter as a hoax.

People are so stupid, sometimes.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top