gaaaah

04.17.03 @ 2:37 p.m.

Courtesy Dave Barry's Blog:

Turning Anything into Oil (warning, has a revolting photo of turkey guts)

"Unlike other solid-to-liquid-fuel processes such as cornstarch into ethanol, this one will accept almost any carbon-based feedstock. If a 175-pound man fell into one end, he would come out the other end as 38 pounds of oil, 7 pounds of gas, and 7 pounds of minerals, as well as 123 pounds of sterilized water. While no one plans to put people into a thermal depolymerization machine, an intimate human creation could become a prime feedstock. "There is no reason why we can't turn sewage, including human excrement, into a glorious oil," says engineer Terry Adams, a project consultant. So the city of Philadelphia is in discussion with Changing World Technologies to begin doing exactly that."

Ew. Ew, ew, ew, ew. I mean, very nice environmentally, but blarg. And presumably a very good way to dispose of a body in a murder case. I mean, I imagine the DNA isn't around after the process... And your victim finds his or her way into the SUVs of tomorrow... and er, a lake or something. Ooh, ooh, the Soylent Green type possibilities are a bit horrifying, aren't they? I can imagine a science fiction book that sees this as a handy way of dealing with a densely populated earth... Why I keep thinking of the book Space Merchants I don't know because it doesn't have much to do with recycling of people. I guess the great quivering mass that is Chicken Little is what I'm thinking of. Eugh. And I was eating lunch. Damn Dave Barry. But it could prove interesting....

(See how I love science fiction?)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top