man, this sucks

04.01.03 @ 5:47 p.m.

I want out of this Comparative Lit class I'm in. Normally I love comparative lit and even the folklore of other cultures, but oh my fucking lord, I cannot TAKE three weeks of fucking anime. Sorry if you're a fan, but I hate anime with a passion. And it's not ignorant dislike. I was into (not heavily, but somewhat) Japanese culture for about three years, and I just stopped liking it. Well, I never really liked it that much. I was into Pokemon for a while. Yeah.

It all goes back to me taking Japanese at the start of high school merely to differentiate myself from the crowd. Fuck the holy trinity of high school foreign language, French, German, and Spanish. I wanted to do something else. So, for three years I took Japanese from a highly perky young woman named Kasumi Aoki. She was a good teacher and I shone. I helped out at after school events and festivals, I was the demo at the parent's night things where she campaigned for people to take Japanese. I gave flawless introductions of myself, presented my hobbies and age, and I even had the accent almost right.

By the end of the third year, I couldn't take it anymore. I stopped trying after two and a half years. It wasn't any fun anymore, and I started to resent the way Aoki-sensei was pimping us out to sell imported candy to raise money for Japanese club. She was breaking rules by using her class rather than the actual club. She skirted this by saying she considered all her classes as members of Japanese club whether we attended or not.

I even initially chose this University with the idea of continuing Japanese here. It's one of the best programs (if not the best) in the continental United States. I decided I like the school and quickly dropped Japanese.

I know to many people who are obsessed with Anime. I know I've gotten just as bad over certain aspects of the sixties. I try not to be as obnoxious as some anime people seem to me, but I know I can't help it. I am, in essence, a geek. I can't help it. I can get geeky over things that are cool, and maybe that's my saving grace.

My point (roundabout as it is) is that I don't think I can take three fucking weeks of anime. Mind you, I wouldn't mind watching Princess Mononoke, but the rest, no, no, no. I hope even more fervently that I get into Infohell so I can drop this nightmare class. Until then, I guess I can try to explore my options for replacement. I hate joining a class late, but this... I don't know if I can bear it. Maybe I can, but I don't want to, I really don't want to.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top