rude and reckless

04.01.03 @ 12:44 p.m.

One of the major problems with the war is that people see it in term of black and white - you're either pro-war or you don't support our troops. Now they say that 70% of Americans support the war. Perhaps. Perhaps no one wants people to die. I certainly don't wish American troops dead, but I do not support this war, jingoism, or Bush's total disregard for the international community.

I was vaguely pissed when the stock market rose the day we attacked, but now I'm perversely pleased to see it tanking again as war continues.

My main reason for writing an entry right now is a need to highly recommend Adam Felber's Fanatical Apathy, a news and politics blog. Adam's a comedian/humorist/writer and panelist on my favorite NPR show, Wait Wait Don't Tell Me, a weekly newsquiz.

I'd communicate more with Adam, but I'm more of a lurker in his communities because I feel toweringly ignorant next to the other devotees of the Fanatical Apathy Forum. I used to talk more on the old forum, before, you know, we went to war.

Anyway, he's brilliantly funny. Read him.

EDIT: My horror knows no bounds. This is MY city, my dad was at that protest, it's the protest that almost made me miss my flight to Los Angeles last August.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top