did i mention it rained all day, too?

03.21.03 @ 10:24 p.m.

Well, I'm finally done with this term. I probably did pretty horribly in Anthro, mainly because I cannot for the life of me remember what ethnic groups go with what region go with what little lesson in Anthropology we learned, and so I ended up guessing on rather a lot of the test. I was done by 11 a.m., got a bagel, watched the Fresh Prince of Bel Air, and sold my books by 11:40. ($58 for those books... not much considering how much I paid. And the guy couldn't give me sensible denominations like 2 $20s or even a $50... no, I had to get 11 $5s. Goddamn.) Of course, I didn't get to leave Eugene until 2:30 because my dad went to a bar to watch the Utah-Oregon game (which we lost, barely) and so I was stuck in my dorm room, lying on my bed switching between the game, whatever the hell was on Comedy Central, and news coverage until two-damn-thirty. I ended up blasting my hearing away in the car to cover up the sounds of my dad's prefered driving accompaniment: talk radio. And he has it up loud to 'cover the road noise'. So I had to listen to the Grassroots' Greatest Hits and Tommy at the highest possible volume on my discman. For a while we listened to the Eugene oldies station, also far too loud. And I get yelled at when I turn it down a little. Geesh.

It's been a moderately frustrating day.

My friends would keel overe and die (well, Amy would) if I admitted to them that I'm not really that enthused about the impending beach trip. I've been in a state of mild depression since finals started and, well, what do I have to anticipate? Almost everyone but me is bringing an auxillary friend whom they'll have to entertain and where does that leave me? Stuck with Amy or Moni. I can't take Amy's perkiness lately and Moni and I are too similarly cynical to get along that well. Ah, it'll be fine, I'm sure, and I should be happy to be around my friends again, but I just can't get as hyped as Amy is (which is bloody annoying, frankly) and the idea of holing up away from everyone for a week is awfully tempting.

I don't even get tomorrow to myself. It's my sister's birthday today and we'll be doing something for her tomorrow. It's totally callous of me not to care, but she's my half sister, we were never close. We aren't close. I forsee no growing closer in the future. What a horrible thing to say, but eh. She chose the other half of her family when she was in high school and as a result, she's a near stranger to me. Dorian (my half brother) is a bit closer, but he doesn't give a damn about me.

It's funny, I have no concept of a 'normal' sibling relationship. I would probably have more of an idea if I had been an actual only child, but like most other things in life, I've been given a screwy perspective and I can't see around it.

My thoughts in the car today centered on the use of names in music. Pete Townshend has a tendency to use simple names (Jimmy in Quadrophenia, Bobby in the abandoned project Lifehouse, and, of course, Tommy) for boys and Sally for girls. Sally-Joy is in I'm a Boy, Sally Simpson is in Tommy, and "Sally, take my hand" is a line in Baba O'Reily. Then I started thinking about the Monkees, and how part of Don Kirshner's hit formula was "Write a song with a girl's name in it and it'll sell like wildfire." Hence Mary Mary, "Mary and Saundra" in Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow) and any number of Monkees songs. The last station this train of thought stopped at was the Beatles. Most romantic Beatles songs didn't use names, they tended to go with 'she' and 'you'. Dad shot down my theory with Michelle, but I think the rule stands.

I like ruminating on pop music.c

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top