london calling

03.22.03 @ 11:46 p.m.

First things first, I think this picture kicks ass:

Tomorrow I head off for the beach and I don't think I've ever been less enthusiastic about seeing my friends. I've still got that "I'd like to crawl into a hole and ignore the world for a week" feeling, not aided by a low key but not unpleasant evening spent with my sister. My patience with mankind was tested by my dad, who made annoying the hell out of me into an art form with his worry about my sister being twenty minutes late.

Also, this picture:

So time was spent with my sister and her kind-of fiance, whose name escapes me. Shawn, maybe. Probably not Sean, but Shawn. I don't know why I come to this decision, but he seems like a Shawn with an 'h' and a 'w'. Nice enough guy, quiet, perhaps slightly weirded out by my dad and my sister's mom (who is by all accounts looney as anything, but then, all accounts are through her bitter ex-husband, my dad).

I wish I complained less here, it probably makes me terribly uninteresting. Absurdity is fun, but I haven't run into very much lately. I spent a good chunk of my morning messing with Celebmatch.com, and to my distress, find I am incredibly compatable with Joey Lawrence. I knew I shouldn't have tried that one. When I came up against a lack of members of the Who in their celebrity lists, I went to the BioLoveMatch.com site and put in various birthdays of the Who. I had 99% physical compatability with Pete. Woo. Everything else was in the seventy percents... well, emotional was 62%, but hey. The one I did with John Lennon had high intellectual and physical compatibility but low emotional... My thought, of course, was "So we could have interesting conversations and a torrid, no strings attatched love affair, then." Which I thought was hilarious at the time but just goes to highlight the inherent silliness in my character.

I've been reading this very old (mid-1980s) Dave Barry book. Man, he used to be a lot funnier than he is now. One of my favorite books of late has been his Book of Bad Songs which makes me laugh out loud, not perhaps as much as it did the first time I read it, but still. I read it on the public bus back from the mall, and I attracted stares with my suppressed snorts of laughter I don't think there's anything I love so much as laughing, with the possible exception of music. My favorite books are by humorists, I am deeply devoted to Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, as underrated an author as you'll ever find, he's a brilliant parodist. Good Omens is also an incredibly funny book, considering the plot revolves around the apocalypse. I love stand up comedians. I love The Daily Show. And while I love stand-up, I find very little humor in low-brow comedy movies. I like wit, that's the best.

Must watch The Importance of Being Earnest again. Oscar Wilde AND my mild obsession with Colin Firth, two birds with one stone.

I'm listening to the Clash. I really like them.

PS--I also want to mention that I got ahold of a 25 foot phone cord extention and now get to be online while tucked into my bed under my electric blanket, which is just the coolest damn thing, comfort and convenience and just being the laziest I can possibly be.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top