traps for troubadors

03.15.03 @ 12:18 p.m.

I found it amusing last night to realize just how much satisfaction I can get out of mindlessly editing a batch of images. I updated my piddling little art site, adding the photos (which are lousy because instead of using a scanner, I got lazy and took a digital photo of my real photos) and making thumbnails for, well, everything. It was the making of thumbnail images that was so satisfying. I like doing things like that. This is probably similar to Liz's devotion to design. If I were better at codes, I would probably blissfully spend hours and hours manipulating it. I enjoyed moving and overhauling my Monkees site last year, recoding some pages until I dreamt in HTML.

The's a massive peace march filing past my window right now. I'm happy for them, though I think I'm glad I'm not participating this time around. I'm all for their cause, but I didn't get back from the February 15th march until around 4, and I have to do some major studying today.

Last night I watched Almost Famous with the roommate and Danae the RA (though she left for a party in the middle) and I realized that I have not watched this since the Who-wakening. Heh heh. I just made that up, and I rather like it. In fact, my stupid grin has just made E* start asking me what's so funny. She was just on the phone, she probably thinks that I thought something she said was funny when in fact, 93% of the time I don't listen to what she's saying at all. (Wow, I am a heartless bitch sometimes.) Anyway, I didn't realize the place the Who had in the movie ("Listen to Tommy with a candle burning and you'll see your future,") and so I was, of course, a geek. It's an entirely different movie when you've got more knowledge of music in the early seventies under your belt. I enjoyed the new perspective.

There's a banner above this window that bothers me a little. It's a row of illustrations of fairies, which in itself doesn't bother me. What bothers me is that they've all been compressed vertically. If you're going to make a banner, which has specific size restrictions, you wouldn't think it would be that hard to crop the images. Ah, I'm a PhotoDeluxe snob. (And how stupid is that? I don't even have actual PhotoShop, just the old free version that came with either my printer or my scanner, I forget which.)

I need to change my template, I know this. Unfortunately, it's finals week which is just hell. Maybe I'll mess about with some things this evening.

(I couldn't think of a decent title for this entry (not that I usually can), so I just shoved in a half-lyric from Sympathy for the Devil, which is what I am listening to.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top