nineteenth nervous breakdown

03.09.03 @ 10:48 p.m.

God have mercy on my procrastinating soul. Seriously.

I'm attempting to work on a paper on the role of women in the French Revolution, but since I spent yesterday in a mad fit of Pete Townshend worship to drive my Who Boy related nerves out of my mind, I'm finding it hard to concentrate. I feel like if I don't keep obsessing on Quadrophenia, I'll get nervous again and then I really won't be able to function. I think the nerves are amplified by the general stress of end of term time. It's fucking Dead Week. Everything is trying to wrap up neatly, and for reasons unknown, my mind is resisting every inch of the way. I'm also kicking myself for not working on anything before this afternoon, because now I have to write this goddamn paper, write a short paper in Italian (highly ungrammatical Italian at that), and prepare my situations for the oral final because I'm supposed to practice with my partner tomorrow. AAAAAGH! Why the fuck can't I freeze time? A better question is why can't I manage time? I really suck at this.

Wow. I'm really angsty lately, though I think I'm keeping it fairly subdued. It probably doesn't help that I'm listening to one of the ultimate tormented, frustrated youth albums of all time (Quadrophenia, of course).

So this is me popping in to express my frustration and stupidity, and I'll also say that I love mods. I'm listening to the Kinks' song, "Dedicated Follower of Fashion." Boys in army coats and pinstripe suits, GS scooters... oh, what I wouldn't give for the time to sit down and watch the movie version of Quadrophenia right now.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top