without the grace

03.08.03 @ 10:57 p.m.

Oh boy, nothing like throwing yourself into an obsession, eh? I've listened to bits of Quadrophenia 5 times in the last, I dunno, three or four hours. Mainly because "Helpless Dancer" has got me totally enthralled. And because I'm all alone right now, I can be a dork and rock out to it. It's so... angry and restrained, makes you feel like you're going to lash out at someone. Why this song makes me feel so damn good is a mystery.

I think it's funny that I'm totally non-religious but I absolutely love Who songs with somewhat spiritual lyrics. "No one can love without the grace/Of some unseen and distant face" and "I believe in love, but how can men who've never seen light be enlightened?" and "And Tommy doesn't know what day it is/He doesn't know who Jesus was or what praying is." How interesting.

I think Quadrophenia has got me in a weird, philosophical mood. Also, I watched my Tommy documentary again because I wanted to get a mental 'image' of Pete's speaking voice.

Hmm. I wonder why I'm doing this, throwing myself so fully at the Who this weekend. Probably to keep my mind off Who Boy, and I have to admit, it's been very successful.

Hah, yesterday when I was walking back from the gym I was listening to a mix CD on shuffle. One song was ending and I thought "I wanna listen to Baba O'Reily" (you know, "Teenage Wastelaaaaaaand, only teenage wasteland...") and sure enough, that lovely long synthesizer intro started playing in my ears seconds later. It was like being psychic or something. Very cool.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top