listening to you, i get the music

03.06.03 @ 9:58 a.m.

I am acting so out of character today. This is not a bad thing.

The thing that instills the largest amount of pride in me is that I finally forced myself to talk to Who boy. Heehee. And it was fun! His posse and I finished our course evaluations at the same time (okay, I admit to stalling a teensy bit) and one of them made a comment on the way out the door of the building along the lines of "No one is going to take three terms of Rock History." I snorted and said "I would!" and Who boy said (at almost the same time) "I'm there." I listened to their conversation for a little bit and then just bit the bullet and said "You brought in that Who DVD didn't you?" and said how I had fallen in love with the Who last summer and meant to thank him back at the beginning of class because I hadn't seen any performance footage at that point. He used my turn of phrase and said he fell in love with the Who two years ago himself and said the DVD wasn't that great--It butchered Tommy, but the "See Me, Feel Me" was great. He hadn't seen the movie version of Tommy. One of his posse said "It's pretty bad, but in a funny way" and I added "Especially if you keep in mind that Roger Daltrey takes his shirt off whenever possible. I told them about this documentary I have where Pete talks about how sick he got of Roger's chest... Who boy said "I can totally see Pete saying that." Oone of the pleasant things about it was that they took my path instead of theirs. There's this big square of lawn behind the library, and though Who boy and I are usually headed toward the same corner, I got up and over, and he and his posse usually go over and up, though sometimes they take the same path I do. I kind of remember one of them saying "Pete's probably jealous that he isn't a sex symbol." Who boy said "Pete's my sex symbol" at the same time one of his friends said "Except to little kids" which was bad, but mildly funny.

Anyway. A small victory for self assertion. Too bad it took me the entire term to talk to him and I probably won't ever see him again after next week. *sigh* Silly girl.

The other out of character thing I did today is that despite the fact that I had an umbrella in my backpack, I just let myself get rained on the entire way back from class. The first part, well, an umbrella would have been a bit in the way when you're trying to walk down a path with three other people. After that there wasn't really much point in getting it out. So my hair is all wet. Normally I'm a bit finicky about rain, especially getting my glasses all wet. But I didn't care.

Is this new found self assertion or is my highly developed shyness and reserve diminished by lack of sleep? I didn't get to bed until 3. I shouldn't have gone to the movies with E* and Austyn... all the other times they've wanted to go to movies, I've ignored them or made excuses about having to study. The one time I do have to study, I go with them to see Rabbit-Proof Fence (which I thought was quite good, feeds the Branagh obsession) and then we come back here and watch Emma... which I could have done without, but I do so love Knightly. Of course, this was spurred by the fact that I still have my pictures of what the characters of Riverwood should look like, and Jeremy Northam is mentally cast as Robert Beckford. *sigh* I think that when I go to sleep (which I will soon do, and plan on sleeping through the rest of my classes or at least blowing them off, hah) I'll start mentally plotting some of my rewrites.

And don't get the wrong idea, I'm not so much infatuated with Who boy as I make it sound. More than anything, I'm incredibly pleased with myself for breaking out of my shell lately. It's really very remarkable, especially if you could see just how shy I really am.

Agh. Gotta change out of my rain-dampened clothes and get some SLEEP.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top