nerd!

03.04.03 @ 8:56 p.m.

I have the answer to an age old question: Why 'Bono' is Bah-noh and not Boh-noh. Why? Because it's short for Bonovox. How nice. His real name is Paul, Paul Hewson... His parents were Bobby and Iris. His brother was Norman. Blah blah blah blah blah. It's all embedded in my head. All in the name of Rock History class... I really had no idea the majority of U2 was very religious.

Am I the only one who has little to no faith in online petitions? I don't see them doing any good. They don't have the weight of a real signature and there's no way to differentiate yourself, identify yourself with any certainty. So I find it mildly annoying when people send them to me. Andrew sent an antiwar one to my social circle's email list. I... oh, I feel cynical and disillusioned and jaded right now.

Hmmm... It would seem I'm still dwelling on the enneagram stuff that I went through with my dad. I kept thinking it was odd that the profile for fives talked about disturbing thoughts and I kept thinking "But I've never had disturbing thoughts!" but now I realize that maybe I do, in a very minor way. My paranoias... I have a lot of fears and a vivid imagination. The other day when I was riding Greyhound, I looked out the window and over the edge of the overpass we were on and I could easily see the bus plunging over the edge. Then today I was walking back from the library in the dark and I starting mentally imagining an attack and my own response and got stuck on images of using my keys to protect myself. Gaah. I'm always afraid of everything.

I love libraries. There's something about walking into the Knight and that smell of old books... of course, I always end up feeling really thirsty, but that's probably due to environmental controls to protect the books. Some of them are really old, warring for space with brand new books in the four floors of the library. So far, I have things to love on floors two, three, and four. The second floor has all the great books on period costumes, histories of cultures and societies, all the wonderful anthropological books I can dig into for research for my writing or just out of idle curiosity. The third floor is the music, so there lies the books of rock criticism, band histories, and the Listening Room, which I have yet to experience. The fourth floor is literature and literary criticism, which is fun to explore.

You get it, I'm a geek, right? I can't believe that I come back from the library with books most people would only check out for an assignment. I got one called Mr. Collins Considered. MR. COLLINS! Heh. How could a P&P-phile like myself resist? I have a twisted sympathy for everyone in P&P. One of the things I like about the Derbyshire Writers Guild is the unions of types of characters in the more fanciful stories. Like the Villians of Austen (Henry Crawford, George Wickham, John Willougby, to a lesser degree John Thorpe and William Walter Elliot, who mostly goes around squeaking "My Uncle is a baronet!") And the Weenies of Austen (Edward Ferrars, Edmund Bertram...) I really need to read Mansfield Park again. And I need to start keeping a list of all the books I've read this year and have been reading. Of course, the basic problem here is that I haven't been finishing what I've started lately. I like Mansfield and I don't... Fanny drives me crazy with her stupid doormat mentality, and the Crawfords... Well. I shan't go on (one reason being that I've only read MP once and I hardly remember the plot). I remember the movie being not very good and including more sinister aspects and overt sexuality than features in the book. Then again, last time I tried to read Northanger Abbey, John Thorpe was too maddening for me to continue.

I'm a horrible person, but I cannot stand E* right now. She's been sick and I don't want her to get me sick. I think my annoyance (this evening) started when she made me wait for her before going to get food. I wasn't in a mood to be generous and she was being stupid and coughing all over the place, which made me paranoid and I'm just a touchy bitch today. I think we can leave it at that.

I think that's enough for now. It's X-Files Tuesday on SciFi, which is cool. It's been a long time since I've watched old school X-Files. I never liked the newer stuff.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top