aaah, mr. darcy

01.26.03 @ 1:40 a.m.

Wow. I just sat and watched a five hour movie with my RA, Danae. Five hour movie, of course, translates to Pride and Prejudice in it's entirity. Whaar. Five hours of "Ooh, I like the look Darcy and Lizzy share in this scene" or "The pond scene! Infamous!" *leers at Colin Firth in all his damp glory*

I do love Colin, and P&P is one of the great literary love stories in the world. I don't know if I've ever watched the whole damn thing in one sitting, though. I'm pretty bloody tired. Then again, I'm becoming more and more of an old lady (haha, I'm twenty, so old, right?) and going to bed earlier than pretty much anyone else in this hall. But they're exceptionally loud and up exceptionally late.

It's interesting; probably because Danae is in a position of 'authority' as the Resident Assistant, I feel like she's way older than me, but she is exactly 16 days my senior. Only 16 days! E* is older than she is. We talked about that weird "Holy fuck, I'm twenty, how am I twenty years old?" feeling you get as you leave your teens, and how weird it is to say "I'm twenty."

I really rather like Danae. We spent a long time talking about the Beatles, Star Wars, and Colin Firth (also some Bridget Jones stuff). She's really cool. I didn't like her much at first because I kind of resented having to go to hall meetings when I already knew the procedures of this place and don't much care for my fellow hall residents. I respect them very little, less each time they make a noisy, drunken entry into my quiet, unassuming life.

Gaah. Just choked on the dregs of the Pepsi I've been slurping down in order to stay awake through tape six of P&P. I'm still pretty tired.

But you know what? At least I spent time with another person tonight, and not just E*. That's good � I seriously need to work on my social life and the fact that I don't really have friends here at college, I mainly just have my scattered high school friends. I'm also getting to be friendly with Michelle, a girl who lived across the hall from me last year (but whom I ignored because of the incense-and-pot smell that always wafted from their room) and is now in my Italian class. She's also in my history class, and I help her out in Italian and work with her and a maddeningly familiar girl named Stephanie when we're ordered to do group work.

Hurrah, I'm developing interpersonal relationships!

I'm really a loser if it takes me a year and a half of college to get to this point. Okay, yeah, I have some acquaintances from last year, people I wouldn't necessarily call friends but who I recognize and talk to. I just haven't made any close friendships while all my other friends have.

Aaah, I hate self analysis. What can I say, I'm tired and I can't seem to stop myself.

To recap: Colin � whaaar, I think I love you Mr. Darcy! Danae � one groovy chick.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top