belated concert review

01.15.03 @ 11:41 p.m.

Harry Potter on June 21!!!!

My excitement knows no bounds. I should be out of school by then. Hurrah! Too bad no Ken in this one, but Alan Rickman is very nice as well. I just love the sleeves on his Snape costume. They kind of bell out a little over his hands. What can I say, Rickman as Col. Brandon in Sense and Sensibility makes him the romantic hero in my mind. And I'm a Galaxy Quest fan, heh heh.

I really really ought to go and work on my homework.. I still have quite a bit of Machiavelli left to read even if I have read large chunks of it before. Blah. And I was jumping the gun in some of my enthusiam; I thought tomorrow was Who and Yardbirds day, but it is in fact the following Thursday that is devoted to the Who and the Yardbirds. I was excited to see the Kingsmen and Louie, Louie talked about in my textbook. "Why?" you ask yourself... Well, at the KISN the Summer Goodbye concert last September, I had the pleasure of seeing them play both on their own and backing up Marilee Rush. They are so cool! (Here's a funny thing... I was going to link to wherever I wrote about the concert in here but a ha ha ha, I never really wrote a review. Suffice it to say that I'm still slightly inclined to think that, in the words of Martha, "Tommy James is a dick!") And they're local... they're from Oregon and the general Portland area. Paul Revere and the Raiders are also a NW band and sometimes they still play around here, though I think minus Mark Lindsey. I've also had the distinct pleasure of listening to Johnny Rivers himself sing Memphis, Tennessee and a whole bunch of other songs that I frankly can't remember right now.

Okay, here's what I wrote to SYMK back then:

I just got back from a concert, oh, an hour ago. It

was pretty good, except I am highly disappointed by

Tommy James. I happened to be sitting behind a guy

who looked a bit like Danny Bonaduce. He is a MEGA

Monkees fan. He named his son Davy. Seriously. I

was wearing my 2002 Monkeemania shirt and he asked me

about it, and we talked on and off throughout the

shows. First there was a really horrid cover band

called the Touchables, who tried to give away their

t-shirts to girls so it would say "The Touchables"

right across their chests. Creepy old men. They

tried too hard to be the Beatles and to my horror, did

a miserable cover of I'm a Believer by our beloved

Monkees. Then there was a decent cover band called

Billy Scene and the Kooltones. They had screaming

groupies and a guy who sat behind us and whistled

really loudly in our ears. Grrr. That man invited

the mocking that Martha and I whispered to each other.

Then... THE KINGSMEN, of Louie Louie fame. They're

locals, too, so they got a fantastic reception. They

were the most fun band there. MARILEE RUSH sang her

one hit Angel of the Morning with the Kingsmen, and

she was freaking hilarious. Talked about how Angel

was a song about girls doing 'married things' before

they were married (and made a crack about 'cooking

dinner, picking up socks, you know') and how thousands

of boyfriends went out and bought the single to say to

their girlfriends that this girl had it right.

Heehee. And she shows dogs in the area, so I could go

to the Old English Sheepdogs and maybe see Marilee

Rush showing her dog! How cool is that? The Kingsmen

were like a bandful of cool uncles or something. Then

JOHNNY RIVERS, which was really cool. He did some

stuff I could've done without, but he played Secret

Agent Man, Mountain of Love, Memphis Tennessee, Baby I

Need Your Lovin', and The Poor Side of Town. Cooler

than cool to hear these from the man himself. And we

had good seats. TOMMY JAMES AND THE SHONDELLS were

kind of a ripoff. They only played a few major hits,

did a ten minute long version of Mony Mony where Tommy

went into the front part of the audience and a parkful

of people were left wondering what the hell he was

doing. He stopped 15 minutes short of his advertised

set time. AND to top it all off, he said he'd only

sign stuff bought then and there. I enjoyed most of

the concert but at the end I was just angry at him.

So were my concert companions. *sigh* And I liked

Tommy James so much. *growl growl*

So that's that. Oh, and the mocking I speak of is that there were two men who were annoying us and we referred to them as 'jackass' and 'whistling jackass'. Ha. Good times.

ALSO-If Liz and Sten have not gotten the messages I just left them and happen to read this: Liz, your guestbook is leaving entries in Sten's. I have just left her two cryptic messages, one about Abbey Road, and one expressing my Harry Potter related joy.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top