monterey pop

01.16.03 @ 12:16 p.m.

I've been living on turkey sandwiches lately, or so it seems. I should be reading Machiavelli, since I'm only halfway through The Prince and I'm supposed to be discussing it in 45 minutes.

Some things:

1. We talked a bit about the Doors today in Rock. a) I remain amazed at how much Val Kilmer really does look like Jim Morrison, at least to me. b) A guy in front of me didn't take notes for most of the period, so for a long time the page in front of him just said "The Doors: Boozers are losers." c) This was probably inspired by my professor telling us about the Doors concert he went to, which essentially consisted of Jim Morrison rolling around onstage wrapped in his microphone cord and mumbling incoherently. d) I really like the way Jim Morrison stands at the end of Light My Fire on Ed Sullivan. e) We were told we were going to hear a song disliked by most fans of the Doors because it was too commercial and so not Jim Morrison. It was Touch Me and I was slightly (but only slightly) chagrined to realize that I like that song an awful lot.

2. Sometimes I really like Janis Joplin, other times I do not. Right now I'm very pro-Janis after watching her perform Ball and Chain at Monterey Pop (I must get this 3 disc DVD!). I'm also always up for Piece of My Heart and Me and Bobby McGhee.

3. Ha. My notes from last Tuesday say "Pink Floyd just gave me a fucking heart attack."

4. I become a giddy moron when confronted with the Who. I keep desperately wishing to run up and snatch my professor's copy of Monterey Pop to watch the Who smash up their instruments and sing My Generation. I get all excited when he lets the menu for the third disc run because I can see Roger Daltrey and today when we watched the second disc, I saw Keith Moon pounding away. I am the personification of envy when it comes to that movie.

5. Mama Cass Elliot got a laugh today. They showed her for several seconds listening to Janis Joplin with her mouth open and some people snickered then outright laughed. (The 'boozers are losers' guy lost all my respect when he said "I hope they gave her a copy of this movie" which showed that he failed to recognize her. Well, not all my respect, but a bit. Doofus.) We laughed again when they showed her reaction at the end of the song. I really admire Cass.

6. I successfully repressed the urge to tell the class the Jimi Hendrix opened for the Monkees for seven tour dates before getting frustrated with the jeering crowd shouting "We want the Monkees!" and "Foxy Davy" instead of "Foxy Lady", so one day he gave them all the finger and quit the tour. Much chagrin on the Monkees' part. Nesmith makes a mention of talking to Jimi Hendrix just days before his death.

7. 27 is a freakishly magic number when it comes to rock stars. Janis? Dead at 27. Jimi? Dead at 27. I think Jim Morrison was, too, unless our prof is misleading us.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top