photographic journey (warning: image heavy)

01.16.03 @ 5:08 p.m.

I went out photographing today. Mostly it was because I needed to use up the roll of film Mom left in the camera at the end of break, partly because I've been jonesing to take pictures for an age, and partly because I wanted to explore the Eugene Pioneer Cemetary, which is something I have to walk by every time I have Rock History. It's an actual part of the campus, between the Library, the School of Music, and Mac Court, our elderly basketball stadium.

I was amazed at the general sense of peace there. I mean, yeah, it's a cemetary, of course it's going to be peaceful, but I was particularly struck by it here. Possibly because there are huge trees all over, which gives kind of a surreal feeling, like you've stumbled on these lovely monuments in the middle of a virgin forest.

It' was just so... not quite relaxing, more calming. I wandered all around, looking at the dates and the older monuments, which I think are really beautiful.

I took E*'s digital camera with me as well as my film camera (I don't intend to do that again... carrying $500 worth of camera paraphenelia is enough to make me a bit jumpy) and took a few pictures that I was able to immediately take back to my room and play with on my computer, which was neccessary because her camera doesn't allow you to frame pictures very well. I don't see how digital could replace film any time soon no matter what my dad says. He doesn't understand playing with depth of field and things like that. He thinks that buying a $200 digital camera would be just as good as buying a film camera. Hah.

I'm so glad I got to keep Mom's camera instead of buying something new. That sounds odd, doesn't it? I'm just so familiar with her Canon AE-1 that I wouldn't want anything else. It's comfortable. She bought herself an AE-1 Programmable, which means you can set 'priorities' like shutter priority or f-stop priority, so what happens is it sticks to one shutter speed or f-stop and alters the other to have good picture quality. Or I guess it can be totally automatic. My mom claims this is so perhaps my dad will learn to use the camera and stop hinting about digital cameras. I offer to borrow E*'s to no avail.

The headless statue does exist, I'm not crazy yet.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top