armenia, city in the sky

12.29.02 @ 6:44 p.m.

The music in fucking Claritin commercials is from TOMMY! I cannot believe it! I cannot reconcile The Who with allergy medicine.

You might guess from my opening outburst that I have listened to Tommy for the first time today. I bought it this afternoon. I'm still incessantly listening to The Who Sell Out, which has become my favorite album ever. I love so much of it. I think I'm a sucker for Pete's mini-operas, as I fanatically love both "A Quick One While He's Away" and "Rael". "Rael" makes me think of Lord of the Rings a bit, though. Probably because I saw Two Towers on the twentieth, and Fellowship not long before. Yeah, I'm so behind the times movie-wise.

It just blew my mind to be listening to the Tommy overture and hear the music from CLARITIN COMMERCIALS, for fuck's sake. (I may be saying 'fuck' overmuch today because I've realized that I'm in swearing withdrawl by being around my parents and elderly grandmother, and I'm getting weird in my idiomatic speech.)

I also love "Jaguar" off the expanded Who Sell Out. The Who are just... brilliant. I love them so much, and it's all about the music. I don't fancy one of them yet, though I am idolizing Pete Townshend a bit because I think he's so wonderfully talented. My dad was going on about all of them being ugly and I was shocked, shocked I say. Funnily enough, Dad thinks Roger is the only one with any good looks and Roger is the last one I think I would have a thing for. I like Pete and Keith the most. I think some of M's affection for John has rubbed off on me.

I think I want to scan and blow up the Odorono picture with Pete off Who Sell Out and put it on my wall. Heehee.

Look at that! You can actually SEE me talking myself into having a thing for Townshend right there! I don't lie when I say that I tend to talk myself into crushes. Just like I've nudged myself into a fancy for S- all over again, despite my better judgement. I'm such a goddamn moron.

Okay, it sucks when you're standing in a store talking about publishers of Regency Romances to your mother and say "God, I'm a loser," and SHE DOESN'T DISAGREE. My mother. Huh.

I'm kind of antsy and hyper and I don't know why, unless I factor in today's two Pepsis and rather a lot of chocolate. I just don't know what to do with myself apart from grabbing my trashy novel and finishing it off, or, failing that, watch some Blackadder. (My god, do I love Rowan Atkinson! He's a fucking genius, too. Rowan playing Blackadder is nestled up there with Ken Branagh on the little altar to the idolatry of males in my head. British males, too, mostly. I'm imagining a little shrine in my head, and it's got Pete Townshend, Ken Branagh, Rowan Atkinson, and Professor Ben Saunders all over it. British men that I idolize and worship for their BRILLIANCE. I think I ought to add John Lennon and Paul McCartney to that list. Ha ha, I ought to photoshop this one up, except that I don't have any pictures of Saunders.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top