who-a-licious christmas

12.25.02 @ 12:07 a.m.

I bloody hate this computer here at home. Netscape crashes every few minutes (at least it feels that way. Aaagh) and everything moves slowly, else I'd download Netscape 7. Oh, and I can't access the bloody Monkeeland chat anymore, which I can't quite understand since it's worked from here before.

Anyway, what I had typed earlier was that the dust has settled and the family Christmas celebrations are over. We do the whole thing on Christmas eve because my half siblings, when they were younguns, used to spend Christmas day at their mother's house. Big stupid complicated things turn into traditions. That's just how it goes.

Right now I'm listening (for the first time) to The Who Sell Out. I've always liked the song "Tattoo" since I heard it on Live at Leeds. It's been a very Who-a-licious month for me... Jodi gave me a big coffee table book on the Who, Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere, I think it's called. It's cool, though I haven't done much except look at the pictures and read the first chapter or so. Martha dug up an 8 x 10 of them somewhere, badly scratched and rumpled, but still pretty damn cool. Happy birthday to me. Plus there's that Who patch I bought at Hot Topic last week. That's going on my backpack when I can get a hold of some sewing stuff and perhaps an iron.

Is it completely avaricious and mercenary to list off what all I got for Christmas? Tough shit if it is, I'm going to do it anyway just for my own inventory.
-Just given to me without all that christmas ceremony was a big leatherbound folio with Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights which Mom and I picked up at Barnes and Noble for something like seven dollars and the two other t-shirts I bought when I went out shopping with Martha, Andrew, and Amy.
-A polarizing filter for my camera. Yessssssss....
-Quadrophenia (the CD, not the movie). I've been wanting this for a while, though I'd not say no to the movie, which I love. Phil Daniels, you delicious Mod, you.
-Who's Next
-The Who Sell Out (did I not say this has been a Who-a-licious month?)
-A composition book. It's bad enough I get about five google hits for 'composition book' a day, I have to get one of the bloody things for CHRISTMAS. My dad's rather unfunny idea of a joke. Ha. Ha.
-The Beatles Unseen Archives book. Neat. Essentially all photos and a HUGE book. I get to practice my portrait drawing on Macca, I guess. Heh heh.
-Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
-A Harry Potter action figure. No apparent motive there. I mean, I dig Harry and all, but I don't see that I represented any great love to my parents. Except a love of Ken Branagh. Rawr. I'm getting very silly. What I wanted was an action figure of Gilderoy, but no, my dad can't find it so he buys Harry instead? Why not just save the money? I'm going to go see Rabbit-Proof Fence, which has the dashing Ken in it. Hurrah! (I have thoroughly talked myself out of rather admiring Ken's acting skill to being absolutly mad about the guy. Rather similar to my current feelings about S-.)
-A Fred Meyer gift card. Meh. I can use it to buy something, or part of something anyway. $10.
-A bigass Mexican piggy bank. It's neat, but I doubt it'll ever get money put in it as it's one of those ones you have to smash to get anything out of. I'd hate to do that.

My one serious beef about the evening was my dad buying Dorian a toy AT-ST (AKA Scout Walker AKA Chicken Walker, if you don't know what I'm talking about, go watch Return of the Jedi ferchrissake) and getting all the credit for being cool when it was in fact MY IDEA to get Dorian an AT-ST (though I was thinking of the new Lego miniatures) as he always gripes about his big AT-AT (see Empire Strikes Back, battle of Hoth) getting thrown out. Dad gets the credit for my consideration. Bastard.

I've checked the entire Blackadder series out from the library. I am GIDDY with anticipation. Whahahahahahaha. I do love Edmund Blackadder (Rowan Atkinson). Sarcastic, nasty, selfish... My kind of guy. If you have no idea what the various Blackadder generations are, I highly recommend seeking them out. Blackadder I isn't fabulous, but it isn't too horrible. It's Blackadders 2-4 that leave me in a silly, gleeful state. Uproariously funny.

Meh. Goodnight.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top