happy birthday to me

12.22.02 @ 1:41 a.m.

Today (well, technically yesterday, as it's well past midnight) was my 20th birthday. In celebration, I dragged four friends off to go see Igby Goes Down. I only told Jodi that I had seen it before, I didn't tell the others.

I think I could be happy just hanging out with Slavik and Martha all the time. They're like, my two favorite friends. Which is maybe a little patheti-sad because I'm not real close with Slavik.

He's lucky we waited, though. The 'inconsiderate boys' (Slavik and Andrew) were quite late, though I have to say that it wasn't Slavik's fault. He had to get a ride from his... step-sister? and got there about five minutes before our "We're leaving without them, damnit" point. Andrew ran up to us just as we were getting on the train and made some snarky comment about me being forty minutes late on Monday. Hey, there wasn't a movie to get to on Monday. I'm glad we waited for Slavik. Martha said she was glad to hang out with him again, too. It was so much fun. Is it silly to like hanging out with someone as much as *I* enjoyed being around Slavik again? (I can't speak for Martha's level of enjoyment, but she seemed happy with the evening.)

It just occurred to me that we inadvertantly divided up into boys and girls at the theatre. Martha, me, Jodi, Andrew, Slavik. Yep, he was far away from me. In a silly, girlish, I-want-everyone-to-like-me way, I hoped he would sit by me. Not that he had opportunity. But I remember that he sat by me when we went to see Memento. That's one of the times when the film went flooey on us. Ha. That always happens around me. I guess since there was no Moni the curse didn't hold (not that it holds very often anyway, must be something about art house theatres.) But I had a nice if slightly awkward conversation with him when everyone else went to the bathroom :).

Oh my god, I am the world's biggest dork. But I had fun on my birthday and I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. Martha said something about inviting him to the next beach-house trip, and I'm thrilled by the idea. We make a little trio, Slavik, Martha and me. Last time we went to the beach we slouched around together. *sigh* With my luck he's mad for Martha and I'm a total third wheel. Well, for now I have enough fun that I don't care, except for a little nagging insecurity, which I think I'm just going to have to learn to live with. Now I'm tired and it's best if I go to bed.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top