nothing says holiday like killing an innocent tree.

12.19.02 @ 5:20 p.m.

What'd I do today? Not too much. Got a tree, avoided eye contact with a former acquaintance... Asked Jo for advice on a movie and ended up doing the exact opposite. Right now 'the plan' is to go see Igby Goes Down at the Hollywood theatre downtown and take it from there. I left options. I was going to call and confer with Martha but, ah ha ha, she's gone snowboarding with Andrew and is not available for me to call her. Damn.

The whole tree thing was a bit of an endeavor. Andy's Tree Farm was sold out (which didn't surprise me, I don't think he had anything last year, either) and Randy Riechen's was closed, so we had to go to Zurburg's. (Sense a theme among the names? It's not by accident I live on Germantown Road. And yet I am mostly Irish with a bit of Lithuanian and unknown european mongrel. And some negligible amount of American Indian... Cherokee, I think.) Anyway, the boy working at the tree farm is someone I used to always ride the bus with. His sister was the most fucking annoying girl I've ever had the displeasure to know. Poor guy. The first tree we saw was the one we got, but not until after tramping around a field and coming back to it. Gaaah. Oh well. Tradition.

I'm being yelled at to free up the phone line, so I guess I better be off.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top