birthday plans

12.05.02 @ 11:28 a.m.

So here's the dilemma of the day: I am planning something that I don't want to call a birthday party because that sounds like something you stop having around age 12. It's an outing. And it's on my birthday. And I'm selfish enough to want complete creative control. (I'm the Don Kirshner of birthdays! And almost no one will get that joke except Monkees fans!)

So.

Here's the deal: I want to get a bunch of people together and go to a movie, pizza, then late night Starbucks. This was last year's birthday for Ellen and I am all for a repeat performance. The one major modification I'm making is that I don't want anyone to try to buy me gifts. It always goes awry. I get a lot of crap that I don't want and then I feel like a jerk for not buying stuff for other people, despite the fact that I'm almost never around when they have their birthdays. I can't think of a terribly gracious way to say that to them, but I've got a moderately gracious plan, I think. Basically, I'm just going to be blunt. "Don't bother getting me anything, since there's nothing I really want and I feel like a jerk when I'm too poor or neglectful to buy anything for y'all."

The other dilemma is whether or not to invite Paige. I mean, I want to and I don't. She's cool, but I don't want to cause strife amongst my friends. There are roommate issues going down in Corvallis and I'm not clear on the whole story. I don't know. Part of me says just go for it, because she'll be offended if I DON'T invite her, but we're not great friends and I don't want to cause uneasiness with the rest of the Corvallis contingent.

Yet another frustration is that I want to compose and send this email invitation thing RIGHT NOW, but that little issue is tripping me up. I want to email Amy and ask her what she thinks I should do. I'd PREFER her being online so I could TALK to her. Aaargh. Dilemmas suck.

Right now the people I intend to notify are:
Amy
Andrew
Martha
Slavik
Jodi
Moni
Paige (maybe)

I'm also planning on saying "If you have a suggestion for the movie, want to say "I can't come" or even "Fuck off, bitch, why would I want to hang out with you?" email me or give me a call at...." blah blah my Eugene and Portland phone numbers. Try for a little humour, you know.

Gee, I was really thinking that I'd get that today, this morning even. Then I just had this total, stupid crisis. I guess I'll email Amy or hope she comes online.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top